North Carolina Online Resources: an Annotated List of NC Websites: Legal Resources

American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!) provides a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to all on-line sources of American law that are available without charge.

This site contains additional links to sources of commentary and practice aids that are available without charge (or available at a reasonable charge from governmental and nonprofit providers).

The source documents are not maintained on the ALSO! server but are stored, in various file formats, in many separately maintained databases located in several countries.

The Campbell Law Review is published three times per year by students of the Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law at Campbell University in Raleigh, North Carolina.

The Campbell Law Review began publication in 1979 for the purpose of serving the legal community with scholarly articles, notes, comments and other reviews of legal topics.

The Charlotte Law Review is a student-run organization whose main purpose is to publish scholarly and practice-oriented works on a broad array of legal issues. As a student-run organization, the Review serves as both a forum to the legal community, and a tool for law students to further their skill in legal writing, editing, and researching. The Charlotte Law Review strives to serve as a scholarly forum for discussing the pertinent issues in the practice of law.

The Colonial and State Records of North Carolina has been an extraordinary resource for students of North Carolina's history for over one hundred years. The series includes documents and materials from throughout the country and from several European repositories covering the earliest days of North Carolina's settlement by Europeans through the ratification of the United States Constitution.

North Carolinians have lived under three state constitutions-the Constitution of 1776, which created the government for the new state and was substantially amended in 1835; the Constitution of 1868, which brought the state back into the Union after the Civil War but was later amended to discriminate against African Americans in a variety of ways; and the Constitution of 1971, which reorganized the entire state government in light of the requirements of the modern economy and society.

The first issue of what was to become the Duke Law Journal was published in March 1951 as the Duke Bar Journal. Created to provide a medium for student expression, the Duke Bar Journal consisted entirely of student-written and student-edited work until 1953, when it began publishing faculty contributions. To reflect the inclusion of faculty scholarship, the Duke Bar Journal became the Duke Law Journal in 1957. In 1969, the Journal published its inaugural Administrative Law Symposium issue, a tradition that continues today.

The Elon Law Review is a student-edited publication under the auspices of the Elon University School of Law.

FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business, is the pioneer and leader in online legal information and services for lawyers, businesses, and individuals. FindLaw's roots go back to 1995, when two attorneys compiled a list of Internet resources for a group of law librarians in northern California. The response to the material was so positive they decided to post the information on the Internet.

Launched on Jan. 9, 1996, FindLaw.com soon offered a mix of cases, statutes, legal news, a lawyer directory, an online career center and community-oriented tools such as mailing lists and message boards. The Web site rapidly developed into the leading legal information site on the Internet.

Maintained by the UNC School of Government, the Joseph Palmer Knapp Library houses a large collection of material on state and local government, public administration, and management to support the School's instructional and research programs and the educational mission of the Master of Public Administration program. Reference and research services are available to all residents of North Carolina, and additional assistance is available to state and local government personnel, both elected and appointed.

Links are provided to: Local Government Links; State Government Links; Federal Government Links; NC General Assembly; NC General Statutes; NC Government Portal

Founded in 1908, the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners (NCACC) is one of the most successful and active statewide local government associations in the nation. The NCACC was established for the betterment of county government in North Carolina.

The North Carolina Bar Association, founded in 1899, is a voluntary organization of lawyers, paralegals and law students dedicated to serving the public and the legal profession. The N.C. Bar Center in Cary serves as headquarters for the NCBA and the NCBA Foundation, Inc.

Established in 1967, the North Carolina Central Law Review is a legal periodical published, at a minimum, twice a year. The Law Review contains articles written by legal scholars, judges, practitioners and academics.

Provides information about and links to the five levels of the state judicial system, case status, court locations, forms, FAQs, employee benefits, and news.

Contains consumer protection, citizens' rights, and environmental law information, North Carolina statutes, process agents, statistics, press releases and FAQs.

The OSH Division is divided into five main bureaus: Agricultural Safety and Health Bureau (ASH); Compliance Bureau; Consultative Services Bureau; Education, Training and Technical Assistance (ETTA); Planning, Statistics and Information Management (PSIM)

The Statutes on the North Carolina General Assembly website reflect changes made in the 2012 Session. The changes from the 2013 Session will be updated by the end of January 2014 and are listed in the NC Statutes and Session Laws affected by ratified bills documents.

The North Carolina Law Review, a student-operated journal, serves judges, attorneys, scholars, and students by publishing outstanding legal scholarship and furthering the intellectual climate of the University of North Carolina School of Law. Through its collaboration with the legal community, the Review provides timely and thought-provoking commentary for people of North Carolina and the nation. In addition, the Review trains its members in intensive legal research, analysis, and writing, thereby preparing them for the rigors of legal practice and public service.

Mission Statement:

To serve the citizens of North Carolina, with quality and efficiency, by providing an independent forum for prompt and impartial resolution of administrative law contested cases involving citizens and state agencies; investigating alleged acts of unlawful employment practices in state government; functioning as the State’s codifier and publisher of all administrative rules; and reviewing rules before the Rules Review Commission.

The North Carolina Register is published twice a month and contains information relating to agency rulemaking, executive orders, contested case decisions and other notices required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and notices of public hearings filed under G.S. 150B-21.2 must be published in the Register.

Each Volume, beginning with Volume 12, covers one State fiscal year. Note that the State fiscal year is not a traditional calendar year and runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year.

Links to North Carolina's Constitution, 1776-current, provided by the North Carolina State Library.

The School of Government publishes 21 bulletin series covering a wide variety of topics. Bulletins are available online, at no charge, for viewing, printing, and downloading. The School no longer prints hard copies of bulletins.

Bulletins include: Administration of Justice Bulletin; Code Enforcement Law Bulletin; Elder Law Bulletin; Environmental and Conservation Law Bulletin; Family Law Bulletin; Health Law Bulletin; Immigration Law Bulletin; Juvenile Law Bulletin; Local Government Law Bulletin; Mental Health Law Bulletin; Planning and Zoning Law Bulletin; Public Employment Law Bulletin; School Law Bulletin; Social Services Law Bulletin

Offering access to general information, including calendars, rules, and forms.

Conducts local government training, consulting and research. Course lists and link to subscription-only daily summary of North Carolina legislation.

The Wake Forest Law Review is a student-run organization that publishes five issues annually. The Law Review also sponsors two symposiums. The Fall Symposium changes topics yearly. For over twenty years, the Spring Symposium has been dedicated to exploring business law. Through the publication of articles, notes, comments, and empirical legal studies, the Law Review provides the profession with timely evaluations of current problems in the law and serves students as a valuable educational tool.