1898 Wilmington Race Riots:
This site offers a series of primary documents focusing on the riots.
It also includes photos and statements that can help users put the event
in context.
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina - UNC Chapel Hill:
This site, part of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's
Documenting the American South initiative, features a searchable
digitized version of the 26 volume Colonial and State Records of North
Carolina, which documents the history of the state from 1886 and 1907.
Visitors to the site can browse the volumes, search the index, and even
conduct keyword and advanced searches of the text.
Documenting the America South - UNC Chapel Hill:
Maintained by the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, this site
featured digitized text, image, and audio file collections that
document Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial
period through the early twentieth century.
Glencoe Mills: The Ideal and the Real:
This page provides background history on Glencoe Mills, an historic
site near Burlington North Carolina, in the form of a masters thesis.
Greensboro Sit-Ins:
This site, sponsored by the Greensboro News-Record, offers a multimedia
based account of the sit-ins, considered to be some of the seminal
events in U.S. civil rights history.
Historic Sites:
North Carolina Historic Sites is a consortium of 27 state historic
sites dedicated to the preservation of the state's historic places. The
site links to each of the member sites, their offices, a calendar of
events, and field trip planners.
National Register of Historical Places: North Carolina:
Here users can select a county from the map of North Carolina to find
information on buildings and neighborhoods listed in the National
Register of Historical Places. Each entry includes information such as
historic significance, period of significance, and architectural style.
North Carolina Collection Biographical Index - UNC Chapel Hill:
The NCCBI is a collection of citations to biographical sketches of
North Carolinians. Though most of the works from which the index was
constructed are held in the North Carolina Collection at Chapel Hill,
most are also available in the North Carolina Collection at ECU.
Searchers should cross check works they are interested in against the
ECU catalog to determine if they are available locally.
North Carolina Business History:
This site features a capsule history of business in North Carolina from
the Colonial Era to today. It contains information on a wide variety
of businesses, including agriculture, textile mills, mining,
transportation, and banking.
North Carolina Light Stations:
This site, maintained by the U.S. Coast Guard, features architectural
and historical information on various North Carolina lighthouses. Some
entries contain photographs of the associated structure.
North Carolina Office of Archives and History:
This is the Homepage for the Office. It provides links to
historical resources, historic sites, and history museums in the state.
The site also has a simple search interface to aid users in locating
pertinent information.
North Carolina ECHO:
This is the home page for NC Echo or Exploring Cultural Heritage
Online. Visitors can search cultural repositories of the state and
explore resources and research opportunities. Their guidelines,
continuing education, grants, and their newsletter can be found here.
Users can search their database by city, county, institution, or digital
project. The site also includes links to their newsletter and to
educational events sponsored by the group.
North Carolina State Historic Preservation Office:
The NC State Historic Preservation Office assists in “identification,
evaluation, protection, and enhancement of properties significant in
North Carolina history and archeology.” Numerous links to state
historical information are provided including such subjects as
architectural surveys, environmental surveys, and grant information..
Photographic Archives (UNC Chapel Hill North Carolina Collection):
A total of over 400,000 images can be found here which date from 1840
to the present. The works of amateur and professional photographers are
collected from all 100 North Carolina counties. The site includes a
list of North Carolina photographers through 1910 whose works are held
by the collection.
Preservation North Carolina:
Preservation North Carolina is a statewide non-profit organization
whose mission is to "protect and promote buildings, sites, and
landscapes important to the diverse heritage of North Carolina." The
offers resources on preservation and restoration of old homes in North
Carolina. The site also lists historic buildings that are for sale.
Roanoke Colonies Research Office:
The Roanoke Colonies Research Office is part of East Carolina
University's Institute for Historical and Cultural Research within the
College of Arts and Sciences. The Office was created as a clearinghouse
for information on studying the Roanoke Colonies. The site offers
links to their newsletter, a bibliography, and colonization resources.