North Carolina Online Resources: an Annotated List of NC Websites: Business & Economics

This site is “the gateway to government services,” sponsored by Governor Mike Easley and the North Carolina State Government. Visitors can find information about a variety of state government services or search the site for specific information.

This page offers answers to starting up businesses in North Carolina. The website provides links to business forms, permits, events, as well as providing solutions for business questions.

This is the online version of the Business North Carolina, a monthly magazine that provides financial and business news from across the state. Archived articles date back to 2005.

The Charlotte Regional Partnership is an economic development organization with a focus on Charlotte and the surrounding area.

This site, maintained by the North Carolina State Data Center, provides census information about the state.

This site serves as the home page for the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. Recent data is divided into the District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia. The site also includes educational links for both teachers and students. The Federal Reserve, in cooperation with the U.S. Treasury, engages in many economic activities including setting monetary policy, regulating member institutions, and analyzing regional economic data.

This is the home page for the Commission. It provides links to job related resources for both businesses and individuals and includes links to information on the current job market and employment trends.

Part of the North Carolina Department of Commerce, this group seeks to assist North Carolina businesses in conducting trade within the global marketplace. In addition to statistical information on international business, the site also includes links to information about services they provide such as counseling and referrals, education and training, and export financing.

This site features a capsule history of business and industry in North Carolina from the Colonial Era to today. It contains information on agriculture, textile mills, mining, transportation, and banking.

This is the home page for the Department, which is the state's "lead agency for economic, community, and workforce development" through regulation of commerce in North Carolina. The site serves as a gateway to a plethora of state economic information, including links for businesses, vacationers, and those seeking employment.

This site, sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Commerce, offers economic information for the state by county, region, and industry. Also included are links to economics related research papers on North Carolina and a collection of commerce related maps.

The North Carolina Film Office is an agency of the North Carolina Department of Commerce's Division of Tourism, Film and Sports Development. The group's mission is to promote the state as a filming location and to serve as an aggregator of information that serves television and film makers from both inside and outside the state. The site offers information on financial incentives and benefits, the latest news, and resources on upcoming industry events.

The Transpark seeks to serve businesses in North Carolina by connecting them with international commerce through "integration of varied transportation systems supported by the best technology, including on-site training and high-speed communications." The site offers links to GTP news, work sites, and training information.

This site, sponsored by the North Carolina State Ports Authority promotes the ports of Wilmington and Morehead City. In addition to information for businesses, the site includes sailing schedules, news, and educational links.

This is the site of the non-profit dedicated to socio-economic development in rural North Carolina. The site offers many links to information on their efforts to rejuvenate rural areas including rural policy initiatives, capacity building programs, and a collection of research and information tools.

This organization helps entrepreneurs and small business owners build for their future by assisting them in developing solid plans for future growth. Center services are provided free of charge. The site offers links to the Center's various services including management counseling, export financial services, and government procurement.

The tourism page is sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Commerce. The site provides links to information not only for those planning a visit to the state, but those involved in the North Carolina tourism industry.

The Partnership's goal is the promotion of the region to both national and international businesses. The site invites interested businesses to explore North Carolina and to investigate possibilities of expansion or relocation to the region. The site includes links to information on the region pertinent to businesses such as descriptions of infrastructure, transportation costs, and available work force.

This is the online version of the newsletter distributed by the Rural North Carolina Development Center (see the entry above for more info on the center). Interested persons can sign up at this site to receive a printed copy of the newsletter or they may download both current and back issues in pdf format.

This page offers the an online edition of the Triangle Business Journal. The site provides information about local financial news, events, jobs, and resources. Visitors can view business news by market or industry and search for past articles dating back to 1996.