North Carolina Online Resources: an Annotated List of NC Websites: Genealogy

Old New Hanover Genealogical Society is a non-profit, tax exempt corporation chartered by the North Carolina Secretary of State.

The PCFR, Inc. is a non-profit organization founded in November 1994.

USGenNet is the first and only nonprofit historical-genealogical web hosting service on the Internet. We are a website hosting service (ISP) for qualifying historical and historical-genealogical projects. USGenNet itself is NOT a historical or historical-genealogical project.

USGenNet is dedicated to providing free-access online websites for educational purposes, for public research and for the study of our national historical heritage.

We are interested in preserving the history and genealogy for the counties of Person, Vance, Granville, Franklin, Nash, Edgecombe, Pitt, Beaufort, Warren, Halifax and Wilson which are the northeastern North Carolina counties through which the Tar River and feeder creeks flow.

African American Cemeteries Online is a project of The Millennium Project: "People working together to build an online database of African American genealogical material for the 21st century"

Search the catalog for specific books, journals, newspapers, and more. Popular genealogy databases, like Ancestry, may be used for free at our library.

NCGS Mission Statement
Our Mission is:
1. to increase interest in and raise the standards of research and compilation by means of educational programs and publications.

2. to acquaint members with research sources and materials in North Carolina and elsewhere.

3. to serve as a medium of exchange of genealogical information.

4. to promote the collection, preservation, and utilization of manuscripts, documents, and other materials of genealogical and historical value.

The Division of Archives and Records is part of the Office of Archives and History and the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources.

The Division of Archives and Records also includes two regional archives: the Outer Banks History Center, located in Manteo, N.C., and the Western Regional Archives located in Asheville, N.C.

The USGenWeb Archives was developed to help genealogists and family historians share information found in their research. Thousands of records have been contributed to North Carolina, and can be accessed by clicking on any of the county links.

AfriGeneas is a site devoted to African American genealogy, to researching African Ancestry in the Americas in particular and to genealogical research and resources in general. It is also an African Ancestry research community featuring the AfriGeneas mail list, the AfriGeneas message boards and daily and weekly genealogy chats.

FREE SEARCH! NO SUBSCRIPTION REQUIRED
Ellis Island/Port of New York Records

A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.

FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the primary benefactor for FamilySearch services.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent agency of the United States government charged with preserving and documenting government and historical records and with increasing public access to those documents, which comprise the National Archives.

The National Genealogical Society was organized in Washington, DC, in 1903. Its mission is to serve and grow the genealogical community by providing education and training, fostering increased quality and standards, and promoting access to and preservation of genealogical records.

RootsWeb is funded and supported by Ancestry.com.

Ancestry.com® is the world's largest online family history resource home to billions of historical records, millions of family trees and much more. It's also the world's leading network of businesses dedicated to helping everyone discover, preserve and share their family history.

Archives.com is owned and operated by Ancestry.com—the world's largest online family history resource.

The USGenWeb Project is a group of volunteers working together to provide free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free genealogy access for everyone.

Organization is by county and state, and this website provides you with links to all the state genealogy websites which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties. The USGenWeb Project also sponsors important Special Projects at the national level and this website provides an entry point to all of those pages, as well.

Vital records usually contain the full name of the individual involved in the event, the date of the event, and the county, state, or town where the event took place.