North Carolina Online Resources: an Annotated List of NC Websites: Cities/Counties/State

This is the homepage for the statewide non-profit organization the North Carolina Child Advocacy Institute. The website includes resources focusing on research and policy change in four areas: child health and safety, early care and education, child maltreatment, and juvenile justice.

This site, maintained by the University of Virginia Library, provides users access to electronic versions of the County and City Data Books produced in 1988, 1994. and 2000. Users can generate custom reports by choosing from several data subsets.

This downloadable series of lists, provided by the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, contain the contact information for all state and county officials in the state.

Part of the Joyner Library at East Carolina University, the NCC collects North Caroliniana from all over the state, but focuses much of its efforts on the eastern half of the state. From this site users can find hours and contact information, browse collections, and find links to useful North Carolina resources.

This site, maintained by the UNC-School of Government, serves as an aggregator for works published by the Institute. The site provides access and ordering information for books, manuals, monographs, and research reports for the citizens and public officials of North Carolina.

This is the home page for the Land of Sky Regional Council, a local government planning and development organization in Western North Carolina, serving Buncombe, Henderson, Madison, and Transylvania Counties. The site provides links to services and projects from the member counties.

This database, maintained by the North Carolina State Data Center, provides access to over 1200 data series from state and federal agencies. The site provides a vast amount of information including the complete 2000 Census, vital statistics, agriculture, education, and business and industry.

This site offers access to county demographic information and contact information for county officials for any county in the United States by navigating through an interactive map. The site also offers a less complete sampling of codes and ordinances from counties throughout the nation.

WARN is a non-profit dedicated to "reducing damage to public health and the environment caused by radioactive and industrial pollution" through "sound scientific research, advocacy, and public education and involvement." Site visitors can read about North Carolina news, WARN events and programs, and membership information.

Sponsored by the Instructional Technology Division of the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, this well-designed site contains research information for school aged children as well as their parents and teachers.

The homepage of the NCACC contains resources for county officials including news, legislative bulletins, and links directly to the home pages of county governments throughout the state.

The Center is an independent, nonprofit organization committed to goals of a better-informed public and more effective and responsive government. The site includes news, press releases, and a directory of its Board of Directors and staff.

This page, maintained by the North Carolina Citizens for Business and Industry, offers a list of links and email contacts to the various Chambers of Commerce in North Carolina.

This site, maintained by the UNC School of Government, lists the official web sites of various North Carolina towns, cities, and villages. The list includes "web sites that provide information on local and regional government; civic organizations; education resources; visitor's bureaus; tourism and relocation services; and commercial services."

Sponsored by the University of North Carolina School of Government, this site contains links to websites that offer resources for local and regional government; civic organizations; education resources; visitors bureaus; tourism and relocation services; and commercial services.

This group, based at UNC at Chapel Hill, is dedicated to "the cooperative study of problems in the field of social science." The center offers services to support the research and training of social science faculty and graduate students. Visitors to the site can review the services, programs, and resources this organization offers.

This is the official website for the North Carolina Democratic Party and provides information on political issues, how to get involved, and local events. Links are provided to online voter registration. The organization's headquarters is located in Raleigh, North Carolina.

This site, maintained by the North Carolina Department of Commerce, offers economic profiles for all 100 North Carolina counties. The reports are easily accessed through a interaction map of the state.

This site, maintained by the State Library of North Carolina, provides an overview of North Carolina people, government, history, and resources.

Sponsored by the Office of State Budget and Management, this site offers easy access to government information via a simple search interface. An advanced search feature is also available so users can perform a more targeted search.

The Green Party supports "a grassroots democracy, social justice and equality, non-violence, decentralization, feminism, and various other progressive ideals." The Party's website offers information about the group, its activities, and the platform that it supports.

This site serves as the main gateway to information about North Carolina. Here visitors can find a wealth of resources about the state including information for newcomers, citizens, businesses, and state employees.

The NCLM serves as an advocate for municipalities at the state and federal level and they strive to develop and maintain a better municipal government. Their home page includes links to legislative bulletins, the latest group news, and membership information.

This site, maintained by the University of North Carolina Libraries, contains photographs from all 100 counties in the state. Comprised of over 5,200 images, the archive's photographs are accessed through either a interactive map or from an alphabetical list of county names.

Located in Raleigh and Chapel Hill, North Carolina, NCPIRG is a public interest advocate. NCPIRG's mission is to "deliver persistent, result-oriented public interest activism that protects our environment, encourages a fair, sustainable economy, and fosters responsive, democratic government." Visitors to the site can view information about organizational news, projects, and membership.

This is the official web site of the North Carolina Republican Party, headquartered in Raleigh, NC. The site contains information about how to get involved in the party, as well as information on candidates and elected officials.

Here users can check their voter registration, search for their voting location, read campaign finance reports, and check voting statistics from around the state. The site also offers links to other state and federal agencies regarding elections and voting.

This site serves as a clearinghouse for human resource information for North Carolina. The system functions through a "partnership with managers and personnel directors in the agencies, universities and institutions in the state." Visitors can search state job openings, review personnel policies, and look for training opportunities. The site also contains links to resources for current state employees and human resource professionals.

Maintained by the Department of the Secretary of State, this site offers an organizational chart for the state government. Other publications offered include a directory of current state and county officials and transcription of both the current and 1868 state constitution.

This is the official homepage for the city, which is maintained by the Raleigh city government. The site includes information for current and prospective residents of the city, including local news, employment, and government services.

In 2001, the University created the School of Government, which encompasses the work of the former Institute of Government founded in 1931 by Albert Coates. The site contains resources for current and prospective students, faculty, and government workers.

This is the official home page of the State Employees Association of North Carolina, dedicated to "the protection and enhancement of the rights and benefits of state employees." Visitors to the site can view association news, track legislative affairs, and find membership information.

This site, maintained by the North Carolina Office of the State Controller, offers a variety of state financial reports in pdf format.

The council's describes itself as "a voluntary organization of municipal and county governments in North Carolina's Region J (Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange and Wake counties)." Its mission is to assist member counties through land-use planning, economic development, and emergency medical services support to environmental protection, programs for the aging, and information services. The site contains council and member counties activity news and links.

Part of the UNC at Chapel Hill Library System, the North Carolina Collection contains artifacts, printed items, and photographs documenting the history and literature of North Carolina. In addition to reviewing operating hours and services offered by the NCC, visitors can find online resources and browse their photographic archive, containing images from all 100 North Carolina counties.