North Carolina Online Resources: an Annotated List of NC Websites: Journals, Magazines, & Newsletters

The Biblical Recorder has been the news journal for North Carolina Baptists since 1833. In recent years, the medium of this website has given us another avenue to communicate with our audience all over the world.

Change is constant in business, and over more than three decades, this business magazine has changed in many ways. But one thing remains the same — our reason for publishing it. As a mission statement for Business North Carolina, this holds as true today as when it was written many years ago.

“Nobody else does what we do. Our job is to explore what’s happening in one very special place: North Carolina. That sets us apart from the magazines that cover business from a national or international perspective. And it separates us from local newspapers and business journals. But what makes us different is not so much what we do, but how we do it. Our job is to produce quality, in-depth journalism, to dig into stories behind the news, then deliver what we uncover in a manner that, though at times may be provocative, is always fair, accurate and thorough. Unlike some business magazines, we do not speak for any special-interest group or espouse a specific viewpoint.

Carolina Comments, the quarterly newsletter of the Office of Archives and History, is a summary of recent news stories involving the official activities of three divisions—Historical Resources, State Historic Sites and Properties, and State History Museums. Topics covered include many of the day-to-day activities of the seven respective sections of each division; the status of projects, studies, or publications in progress; forthcoming special events; and news of particular interest to the historical community.

Periodically, brief essays, or research reports prepared by staff are included. Listings on the National Register, new highway historical markers, and announcements of awards are also given. Staff news includes new hires, promotions, and retirements.

Carolina Country is a monthly consumer magazine reaching more than 650,000 families, farms and businesses in North Carolina. Published continuously since 1946, Carolina Country is distributed by subscription to members of North Carolina's electric cooperatives.

Carolinas's own guide to great gardening and landscaping.

Whether it’s annual favorites like the Best of the Best issue, Top Doctors, and Best Restaurants, or illuminating profiles of the city’s power players, the city’s smartest arts and culture coverage, or our savvy and stylish shopping section, Charlotte Magazine will be your indispensable guide to living life in Charlotte to the fullest.

CityView magazine is Fayetteville’s only glossy magazine dedicated to promoting the activities, lifestyles and interests of all the area’s residents. The magazine was founded in 2006 by Publisher Marshall H. Waren and his wife Sandee, both Fayetteville natives. They realized then that Fayetteville was the largest city in the state without a glossy, full-color, lifestyle magazine and they sought to fill that void. The magazine began as a bi-monthly publication with six issues printed a year and was a division of William George Printing until 2009.

Now an independent company, CityView is published eight times a year on a bi-monthly basis with two special issues in April and December and with a staff of 13 employees and dozens of freelance and contract workers. Our goal, however, remains the same: To tell all of Fayetteville’s good stories. We consistently feature the people, businesses, charities and historical accounts that make our area great.

Explore the coast every month — its natural wonders, its marine life, its environment, its people and its places. Coastwatch, the flagship publication of North Carolina Sea Grant, takes you to the coast throughout the year and has received numerous awards for editorial excellence. Coastwatch provides readers compelling articles and captivating photography, helping them explore the latest in coastal science and technology, experience coastal communities and appreciate coastal heritage.

Research and creative activity at UNC-Chapel Hill
published by UNC Research. Topics include: arts & humanities, business, law & journalism, education & library science, health & medicine, physical sciences & math, social sciences.

Extension Gardener is a series of quarterly newsletters with separate editions focused on the North Carolina coastal plain, mountains, and piedmont. Articles are written by horticultural experts with the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service. Cooperative Extension is the educational outreach of NC State and NC A&T State universities.

Garden & Gun, LLC is a lifestyle brand anchored by its award-winning national magazine, Garden & Gun that covers the best of the South, including the sporting culture, the food, the music, the art, the literature, the people and their ideas. With a national audience of over 700,000 passionate and engaged readers, the magazine has won numerous awards for its journalism, design, and overall excellence. The publication was launched in the Spring of 2007. The company and editorial team are headquartered in Charleston, South Carolina, with advertising sales offices across the United States.

Progressive news, culture and commentary for Raleigh, Cary, Durham and Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

The Journal of the Elisha Mitchell Scientific Society, first published in 1884, was the official organ of the Elisha Mitchell Scientific Society. After the founding of the North Carolina Academy of Science in 1902, both the society and the academy considered the journal their official publication. When the Mitchell Society dissolved in 1983, the academy assumed control of the journal, renaming it the Journal of the North Carolina Academy of Science in 2002. Covering all fields of science and issued quarterly, the refereed journal currently publishes papers from members and non-members as well as the abstracts and proceedings of the academy's annual meetings.

Metro Magazine is a content-driven magazine that covers a 22-county region that includes Raleigh, the Research Triangle and Eastern North Carolina.

Some 60 years ago, Bishop Vincent S. Waters, brand new to the Diocese of Raleigh, founded the North Carolina Catholic newspaper to help him connect with a far-flung flock that was spread throughout the 100-county state and to help him reach his ambitious goal to "make every North Carolinian a Roman Catholic."

The North Carolina Folklore Journal has a long history of publishing studies of North Carolina folklore and folklife, analyses of folklore in Southern literature, and articles whose rigorous methodology or innovative approach contribute to statewide and local folklife study.

As a publication of the North Carolina Folklore Society, the Journal is committed to the cataloging of studies of folklore, and to providing a medium of expression and information for the voice of folk artists and folklorists in North Carolina.

The NCGS News by the North Carolina Genealogical Society, Inc.

The North Carolina Historical Review was established in January 1924 as a medium of publication and discussion of history in North Carolina.

Our State: Down Home in North Carolina celebrates the people and places that make this state great. From the mountains to the coast, we feature North Carolina travel, history, folklore and beautiful scenic photography. Since 1933, Our State has shared stories about North Carolina with readers both in state and around the world. Our readers are passionate about North Carolina and treasure the magazine as a connection to all the great things about the state. Our State is a monthly publication.

Publication of the North Carolina Military History Society

The School of Government publishes twenty-one bulletin series covering a wide variety of topics. Bulletins are available online, at no charge, for viewing, printing, and downloading. The School no longer prints hard copies of bulletins. Bulletins include: Administration of Justice Bulletin, Code Enforcement Law Bulletin, Community and Economic Development Bulletin, Digital Government Innovation Bulletin, Economics Bulletin, Elder Law Bulletin, Environmental and Conservation Law Bulletin, Family Law Bulletin, Health Law Bulletin, Immigration Law Bulletin, Juvenile Law Bulletin, Land Records Bulletin, Local Finance Bulletin, Local Government Law Bulletin, Mental Health Law Bulletin, Planning and Zoning Law Bulletin, Property Tax Bulletin, Public Employment Law Bulletin, Public Management Bulletin, School Law Bulletin, Social Services Law Bulletin

View Daily Local Business News, Resources & more in Raleigh/Durham, North Carolina.

Stay up-to-date with North Carolina small game issues and wildlife habitat information in the Upland Gazette newsletter published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission.

The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the state government agency created by the General Assembly in 1947 to conserve and sustain the state’s fish and wildlife resources through research, scientific management, wise use, and public input. The Commission is the regulatory agency responsible for the enforcement of N.C. fishing, hunting, trapping and boating laws.

Voice of the Pamlico

NC WRRI is one of 54 institutes of NIWR, the National Institutes of Water. We also publish a quarterly newsletter and research reports from the projects we fund.

Learning about North Carolina's wildlife resources.

The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the state government agency created by the General Assembly in 1947 to conserve and sustain the state’s fish and wildlife resources through research, scientific management, wise use, and public input. The Commission is the regulatory agency responsible for the enforcement of N.C. fishing, hunting, trapping and boating laws.