Crime in North Carolina:
This site provides access to the Uniform Crime Reports for the state generated by the North Carolina Bureau of Investigation through a partnership with the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The site currently includes the reports from 1993-2004. There are also links to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, the North Carolina Department of Justice, and the FBI.
Crime Prevention Division:
This is the homepage for the North Carolina Governor's Crime Commission, a division of the Department of Crime Control and Public Safety. This group hopes to create safe communities and reduce opportunities for crime by collaborating with local law enforcement, business, government, and non-profit organizations. The site provides links to information to help keep communities and businesses safe from crime.
North Carolina Department of Correction:
This site is the homepage of the North Carolina Department of Corrections. It provides links to, among other groups, individual prisons, community corrections offices, and the parole commission. Users can also use the site to search for registered sex offenders, crime statistics, victim services, and transition services.
North Carolina Department of Crime Control and Public Safety:
Information provided by this site is separated into three categories: citizens, divisions, and employees. The citizens' section provides links to such things as the sex offender registry, crime prevention, and employment. The divisions' section includes links to the nine offices that make up the Department for Crime Control and Public Safety. The employees' section offers links to current and prospective employees of the Department, including news, benefits, and information on concerning the application process.
North Carolina Department of Justice:
This is the homepage for both the North Carolina Department of Justice and the Attorney General. The site provides users with current news and alerts from the Department and links to consumer protection and crime prevention resources.
SystemStats:
From this page users can browse issues of SystemStats, a newsletter published three times a year by the Governor's Crime Commission and the North Carolina Criminal Justice Analysis Center. The newsletter covers a range of subjects including recruitment and retention of police officers, state and school crime trends, and new technologies used in law enforcement. Back issues of the newsletter, accessible in pdf format, date back to 1996.