Research Guides: North Carolina Online Resources: an Annotated List of NC Websites: Libraries

General Information

Quick Links

Links to popular research tools.

Libraries

Duke University Libraries:
This is the home page for the Duke University Library System. This site serves as a gateway to the libraries' catalog, electronic resources, online reference, and library departments.

Duke University Libraries Newsletter:
This is the homepage for the electronic version of the Duke University Libraries' magazine, which is published three times a year. Users can view the contents of current issue and back issues dating as far back as 1999.

East Carolina University Libraries:
This is the home page for the East Carolina University library system. From this page, users can navigate to the pages of all of the ECU libraries, including the J.Y. Joyner Library, Music Library, Virtual Library, and the William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library.

North Carolina State University Libraries:
This is the main page of the North Carolina State University Library System. From this page users can search the catalog, review library services, and find links to the different departments maintained by the library.

Focus (North Carolina State University):
This page features current and back issues of the NC State University Libraries' newsletter. Available issues date back to 2000.

North Carolina Public Libraries on the Web:
This site, maintained by the North Carolina State Library, contains links to the home pages of North Carolina public libraries. The list is sortable by city, county, and library name.

Pitt Community College Learning Resources Center:
This is the main page of the Pitt Community College Library. From this page, users can connect to 24 hour online reference services and search the catalogs of all of North Carolina's community colleges.

Sheppard Memorial Library (Greenville-Pitt County Public Library):
This is the home page for Sheppard Memorial Library, the main branch of the Greenville-Pitt County Library System. From this page, users can search the catalog on-line, request a hold, and view information on branch locations.

State Library (Raleigh):
This is the gateway to resources maintained by the North Carolina State Library. The library's resources focus on "services the library is uniquely able to provide to support the state's libraries, our state government agencies, the business community, genealogists and the blind and physically handicapped." From the site users can access a wealth of resources , including state demographic and statistical data, the Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, and e-mail reference services.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill:
This is the home page for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries. This site serves as a gateway to the libraries' catalog, electronic resources, online reference, and library departments.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. North Carolina Collection:
This is the main page of UNC-Chapel Hill’s North Carolina Collection. The collection boasts over 120,000 books and many other forms of media all focusing on the environment, history, and culture of the state. From this page users can access online resources and exhibits, view recent additions to the collection, and see images from their photographic archives.

Duke University Libraries
Official gateway to the libraries, research collections, and online resources of Duke University, a private research university in Durham, NC, USA.
Duke University Libraries Newsletter
Duke University Libraries (ISSN 0895-4909) is published twice a year by Duke University Libraries, Durham, NC 27708-0193 USA. It is distributed to Duke University faculty members and library staff, to members of The Friends of the Duke University Libraries, and to other libraries. Letters to the editor, inquiries, and changes of address should be sent to the Editor, Duke University Libraries, Box 90193, Durham, NC 27708-0193 USA.
East Carolina University Libraries
J.Y. Joyner Library is the main library located beside the Mall on the main campus. The library, which houses the East Carolina manuscript collection, is the largest library east of Raleigh.

The Music Library is a branch of Joyner Library located on the first floor of A.J. Fletcher Music Center. It is the largest music collection east of Raleigh.

The William E. Laupus Library is the medical and health library for East Carolina. It is the primary library for the Brody School of Medicine, the College of Nursing, the College of Allied Health Sciences, and the School of Dental Medicine.
North Carolina State University Libraries
The NCSU Libraries is the gateway to knowledge for the North Carolina State University community and partners. The Libraries' collections reflect the historic strengths of the University as well as its vision for the future. With extensive research holdings in the areas of engineering, science, technology, and agriculture, the NCSU Libraries is recognized as a national leader.
Focus Online -- North Carolina State University
A print copy of FOCUS magazine, published by NCSU Libraries, is one of many benefits of becoming a member of the Friends of the Library, a group of community members, faculty, students, alumni, and corporate partners who support the NCSU Libraries.