Old New Hanover Genealogical Society:
The page includes New Hanover County
records, a surname registry, and a link to the Wilmington National
Cemetery. There are also links to information on meetings and the
Pitt County Family Researchers:
The Pitt County family Researchers is a
non-profit organization created in 1994 that is dedicated to serving
genealogical researchers in Pitt and surrounding counties. In addition
to numerous online resources the site has information on upcoming
meetings and group membership.
Pitt County NCGenWeb Web Project:
Census records, county records, deeds, family
reunions, and other genealogical research links are listed here. There
are also links to various North Carolina libraries.
Tar River Connections Genealogical Society:
This site features history and genealogy
resources for Person, Vance, Granville, Franklin, Nash Edgecombe, Pitt,
and Beaufort Counties. The site also information on upcoming meetings,
membership, and the Society newsletter.
African American Cemeteries Online: North Carolina:
This site features an alphabetical listing
of African American Cemeteries in North Carolina by county. The list is
a work in progress and many counties are not yet included.
Genealogical Research in North Carolina:
Maintained by the State Library of North
Carolina, this page contains links to basic genealogy research
information for the beginner and even the advanced researcher. The site
should be a valuable starting point to those new to genealogical
North Carolina Genealogy Resources on the Internet:
Sponsored by the State Library of North Carolina, this page is
devoted to the researcher who is too far from North Carolina to do the
bulk of their research in person. Among other resources, the site
includes a genealogy e-mail discussion list and links to genealogy
North Carolina State Archives County Records:
This is the home page for the North Carolina
State Archives. In addition to directions and hours of operation, the
page includes links to online projects, finding aids, and their catalog.
North Carolina Genealogical Society:
Founded in 1975, the NCGS is dedicated to
the preservation and promotion of genealogical studies in the state.
The site includes membership information, web resources, and a genealogy
North Carolina USGenWeb:
This site serves as the gateway to the North Carolina
section of the USGenWeb project. It contains subsites for all 100 North
Carolina counties and even includes subsites for counties that no
longer exist. Navigation of the site can be done via a clickable map.
AfriGeneas - African Ancestor Genealogy:
This site, dedicated to the promotion of "the mutual development
and use of a system for researching African related ancestry." It
features a mailing list, message boards, and daily chat devoted to
researching African Ancestry.
American Family Immigration History Center:
Operated by the Statue of Liberty Ellis
Island Foundation, allows users to search Ellis Island passenger arrival
records for Ellis Island. The site also contains links to the history
Ellis Island and Statue of Liberty.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet:
Cyndi's list is a very thorough online
source with links to resources and helpful tips for writing a family
history. The site claims more than 150 categories and over 240,800 total
Family Search (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints):
Search for ancestors using the census, SSI death index, vital records index, and other resources all for free.
The Genealogy Home Page:
This is another rich links page for various
genealogy sources. Though not as exhaustive as Cyndi's List, it still
sports a large set of links to potential resources.
National Archives and Records Administration:
This is the portal to genealogical
information from the National Archives. Though actual records are not
usually online, the site provides finding aids and order information for
copies of records. There are also links to assist users new to
genealogical research in developing their skills.
National Genealogical Society:
The NGS a
non-profit organization founded in 1903 that is dedicated to helping
people research their family history from beginner to advanced
researchers. Their site contains a wealth of information on research
methods, including several online tutorials. It also contains
information on membership, upcoming conferences, and current
RootsWeb Genealogical Data Cooperative:
This is the gateway to genealogical resource
sites that are associated with RootsWeb. The site offers links to many
sites maintained by private individuals and forums where stumped
researchers can look for assistance. Please be aware that some of the
links lead to commercial sites that charge for their services.
US GenWeb Project:
A group of volunteers providing websites for
genealogy research and pride themselves on disseminating their work to
the public completely free of charge. In
addition to providing links to sources of information, the site also has
many resources to help researchers develop their search skills and
Vital Records Information:
Though the site contains no actual records,
it explains how to obtain vital records from each county and state in
the U.S. There are also links to sources for international vital