Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special and North Carolina Collections: Primary Sources: North Carolina Collection

Primary sources in the library's Rare Books, Manuscripts, University Archives, and North Carolina Collections.

Primary Sources in the North Carolina Collection

The North Carolina Collection holds both primary and secondary source material related to the history and culture of Eastern North Carolina and its people. Our primary sources include state and colonial government documents; county records; current magazines and periodicals; historical newspapers; and rare books related to the state. We also have a collection of fiction set or written in North Carolina.

Search the Library Catalog

The library catalog is where you can search for books, videos, DVD's, etc.


 

 

Other Research Guides

Using the Catalog for North Carolina Sources

One good place to search for primary sources related to North Carolina is the library catalog. If you use the catalog, we recommend using the advanced search options and narrowing your search by collection to the following options:

  • NC Broadsides
  • NC Maps
  • NC Prints
  • NC Rare
  • NC Roberts

You may also want to check the resources listed on the "More Sources" section of this guide, as many of them also include primary sources related to North Carolina.

Help with Microfilm

Goldsboro tourist pamphlet

Cover of Goldsboro, NC, tourist pamphlet