Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special and North Carolina Collections: Primary Sources: Rare Books

Primary sources in the library's Rare Books, Manuscripts, University Archives, and North Carolina Collections.

About the Rare Book Collection

Our rare book collection contains published works from the 1500s to the present. It features travel accounts, maps, atlases, and North Carolina imprints. Subjects covered include education; the Civil War; abolition and slavery in the US; military, naval and maritime history; and print and book history.

We also have several more specialized collections. We are building a collection of artists’ books; we also maintain the J. Edgar Hoover Collection on International Communism and the James H. and Virginia C. Schlobin Literature of the Fantastic Collection. The Hoover Collection, donated by Dr. J.C. Peele of Kinston, NC, in 1968, includes books, magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, leaflets, and other ephemera expressing pro- or anti-communist views. The Schlobin Collection, donated by Professor Robert C. Schlobin in 2004, contains science fiction and fantasy literature, as well as reference material related to these subjects.

Search the Library Catalog

The library catalog is where you can search for books, videos, DVD's, etc.


 

 

Using the Catalog for Rare Books

The catalog is the best place to look for rare books from Joyner's collections. We recommend using the advanced search options to narrow your search by collection. For rare books, try "Rare Books" or "NC Rare."

Digital Projects

While not related to Joyner's collections, the below projects may be helpful to professors who discuss print, book or publishing history in their classes.

Page from "A New Voyage to Carolina"

Illustration of buffalo, turtle, snakes, bear, possum, deer, and raccoon

Understanding Rare Books

Rare books can be valuable to researchers because of the words they contain, but also because they are objects that provide evidence of the history of printing, binding, and reading. The resources linked below may be helpful if you are interested in studying rare books as physical objects.