Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special and North Carolina Collections: Primary Sources: University Archives

Primary sources in the library's Rare Books, Manuscripts, University Archives, and North Carolina Collections.

About the University Archives

We are the repository for East Carolina University records – including documents created by ECU’s schools and departments, student groups, faculty members, presidents and chancellors, and administrative offices. We serve the university community by acting as a final, central repository for ECU records that are deemed to be of historical value. We also collect and preserve material related to student life, academics, ECU athletics, and other activities that are part of the University’s operations.

Search Collection Guides

Use our Collection Guides page to search our finding aids (in-depth descriptions of archive and manuscript collections).


 

The East Carolinian

The main student newspaper - known today as The East Carolinian - has existed for nearly as long as ECU, but under different titles. The North Carolina Collection holds most issues on microfilm.

East Carolina University Sign from Fifth Street

East Carolina University sign outside Jenkins art building.

ECU Yearbooks

ECU's yearbook has been published since 1923 with minor interruptions. It was known as the Tecoan (for Teachers College Annual) until 1952, when the title changed to Buccaneer to more accurately reflect the school's transition from East Carolina Teachers College to East Carolina College.

Student Handbooks

Helpful Record Groups