Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Federal Public Access Policy Compliance: Department of Energy

DOE Public Access Plan and Requirements

Allows for multiple routes for compliance, including direct deposit articles in PAGES, the Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science. "Starting October 1, 2014, the Department will begin to include requirements for the submission of accepted manuscripts and publication metadata in award agreements."

Effective Oct. 1, 2014; plans "should describe whether and how data generated in the course of the proposed research will be shared and preserved"

 

-Washington University Libraries

About DOE Pages

The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and ScienceBeta (DOE PAGESBeta) is the DOE portal that makes scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE research funding publicly accessible and searchable at no charge to users.

When fully operational, DOE PAGESBeta will offer free public access to the best available full-text version of DOE-affiliated scholarly publications - either the peer-reviewed, accepted manuscript or the published scientific journal article - after an administrative interval of 12 months. When a publisher provides a publicly-accessible article about DOE R&D results, DOE PAGESBeta will link to that article; if the article is not available, DOE PAGESBeta will provide access to the corresponding accepted manuscript.

When launched in August 2014, DOE PAGESBeta contained an initial collection of accepted manuscripts and journal articles as a demonstration of its functionality and eventual expanded content. Over the next year, additional metadata and links to articles and accepted manuscripts will be added as they are submitted to OSTI, with anticipated annual growth of 20,000-30,000 publicly-accessible articles and manuscripts. Following stakeholder feedback and broader implementation of processes for ongoing content growth and submission, the beta version of DOE PAGES will transition to a full release.

DOE PAGESBeta represents DOE's response to the February 2013 Office of Science and Technology Policy memorandum that called on federal agencies to develop plans to provide public access to the results of research they fund within a year of publication. The DOE public access tool was developed and is maintained by the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science.

DOE PAGESBeta is a cooperative and cost-effective approach to public access to scientific publications stemming from DOE research and development. The portal and search engine employs a hybrid model of centralized metadata and primarily decentralized full-text access to accepted manuscripts or articles hosted by DOE-funded national laboratories, universities, and other institutions or by individual publishers. In this way, DOE PAGESBeta builds on DOE's existing scientific and technical information (STI) infrastructure and also integrates publishers' public access efforts.

DOE PAGESBeta leverages the long-established DOE Scientific and Technical Information Program infrastructure and systems for collecting, preserving, and disseminating scientific and technical information to encompass accepted manuscripts. DOE-funded authors at national laboratories and grantee and other research institutions will use this existing infrastructure to submit metadata and links to accepted manuscripts (or the full text itself) to OSTI.

To complement the DOE-supplied content and in support of "best available version," OSTI also is collaborating with the publisher consortium CHORUS, or the Clearinghouse for the Open Research of the United States. DOE PAGESBeta will ingest publisher-supplied metadata and link to participating publishers' DOE-affiliated publicly-accessible content.

OSTI also is engaging with other stakeholders' initiatives to advance public access, such as the university and research library community's Shared Access Research Ecosystem (SHARE).

Regardless of where DOE-affiliated articles or accepted manuscripts are hosted, DOE PAGESBeta will enable readers to search them all via a single query. In most cases, free public access to full text will occur after a 12-month administrative interval. There will be no requirement for a username, password, or other form of registration.

OSTI has collected, preserved, and disseminated scientific and technical information emanating from R&D performed by DOE and its predecessor agencies for nearly 70 years. DOE today conducts more than $10 billion a year in R&D, and OSTI helps ensure a return on those investments by making DOE-sponsored R&D results available in web-based searchable databases. To date, these databases have included electronic full-text research reports; energy citations going back to the Manhattan Project era; e-prints (journal article pre-publication drafts, scholarly papers and more); DOE patents; energy science and technology software; multimedia videos about DOE and other science research; DOE non-text data collections; and DOE R&D accomplishments. Now, through DOE PAGESBeta, OSTI is collecting, archiving and making publicly accessible the "gold standard" of scientific communication - peer-reviewed journal articles or final accepted manuscripts resulting from agency funding.

-Department of Energy FAQ