Use InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery services to request articles, books, media, and more from other libraries when ECU libraries do not have what you need.
Check out the library's resources and services for distance education students.
Visit ECU's Manuscripts & Rare Books Department to find primary sources, maps, and more!
Visit ECU's North Carolina Collection for primary sources, newspapers, genealogy information, and more!
ECU's Digital Collections is your gateway to thousands of images, texts, and recordings from the library's rich holdings.
University Archives serves the university community by acting as a final, central repository for items related to the administrative, academic, legal, fiscal, social, and cultural interactions of the individuals, departments, and programs present on the ECU campus since 1907.
To find out how long you can borrow materials from Joyner Library, please visit:
Search Joyner Library's collection of online materials.
For additional help with navigating ECU Libraries, you may wish to also go through Library 101, which is a tutorial that will go over the basics.
In order to learn advanced library skills, you will first need to throroughly go through the Graduate 101 library tutorial. Click here to get started:
In order to learn advanced library skills, you will first need to throroughly go through the Graduate 101 library tutorial. Click here to get started:
For additional help with navigating ECU Libraries, you may wish to also go through Library 101, which is a tutorial that will go over the basics.
Browsing through a journal in your field can be helpful when choosing a topic.
When you have a citation to a specific journal and you need to get the full text of an article from it.
When you want to just browse an online journal.
This database of e-books has over 60,000 fulltext books.
A tip: you may find good career resources in the books in this database!
Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT connect each keyword and/or keyword phrase in a statement such as: What is the relationship between United States intelligence operations and counterterrorism?
In the following examples, circles and areas in the Venn Diagrams that appear purple are returned as search results by the database.
Use AND to narrow a search strategy and to look for two or more terms in your result.
Example: United States AND counterterrorism
Use OR to broaden a search and to find either or both concepts in the result.
Example: counterterrorism OR counter terrorism
In this case, every article with either "counter terrorism" or "counterterrorism" is returned in the list of results.
Use NOT before a term to exclude it from your result.
Example: intelligence NOT IQ
In this case, only articles with the subject of intelligence are returned in the search, but those dealing with IQ are not returned.
Use nesting to build a more complex search by putting keywords and/or phrases in parentheses to determine their relationship when more than one operator is used.
Example:
(United States AND intelligence) AND
(counterterrorism OR counter terrorism)
Google Scholar can be used to limit to articles held in full text by ECU Libraries.
Click on the image above to access our guide on how to do this on and off campus.
A browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals directly from your iPad. BrowZine is now available at your library.
RefWorks is a citation management software that you can use to simplify the research process. You can keep citations to articles in RefWorks, access journal articles in databases without searching for them again, cite sources in your paper, and create a bibliography with RefWorks. This software is available to all students at ECU during the duration of their time at ECU. Click the button below to get registered! Click here for tutorials.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Education fields.
View the following tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Business fields.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Social Sciences.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Sciences.
View the following tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the History field.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in Communications.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Education field.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Engineering field.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Health Sciences field.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of an article in the Humanities field.
View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of an article in Psychology.
