It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Provides access to digital archives covering literary, political, and social culture of the past 500 years. Content includes manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, etc. Includes the following databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives Unbound; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; British Library Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; The Making of the Modern World; Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers; 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive; U.S. Declassified Documents Online; Women’s Studies Archive.
Supports multiple Research Clusters. This collection contains 300 multidisciplinary resources including primary source documents, archival collections, government documents, periodicals, newspapers, video and more. Topics include: Art; History; Literature; News, Newspapers, and Periodicals; and Social Sciences.
A collection of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between native inhabitants and explorers from other countries. Topics include encounter, environment and places, flora, fauna, images, author, year, sources and personal or cultural events. Content spans 1492 - 2003
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 contains information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. The database contains more than 29,000 titles and more than 6 million pages of text.
Chat with a Librarian
Primary vs. Secondary sources
A primary source is an original, first-hand creation or account of an event or time period. It is usually written or created during
or close to the time period under study. Primary sources are:
Original, creative writing or works of art
Factual, not interpretive
source is written sometime after the event occurred. This could be
days later or centuries later. Secondary sources are:
interpretation, explanation, description and/or evaluation
Are often based on primary sources.
diaries, letters and emails
speeches, testimony and interviews
some newspaper articles
news film or video
statistics and raw data sets
original scientific research
legislative hearings and bills
pictures and maps
poetry, drama, novels, music and art
artifacts such as jewelry, tombstones, furniture and clothing
many magazine articles
journal articles which are not primary reports of new research
literary criticism of Hamlet
reviews of books, movies, plays, etc.
a book written in 1995 about the causes of the French Revolution