Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 7005: Newspaper Databases

Bibliography and Methods

National and International Newspapers

America's Newspapers
Large collection of titles arranged by state and region, with most coverage beginning in the late 1990's
.

Online Newspapers
Free collection of links to thousands of world newspapers. Current issues only.

Newseum
Full-color, high resolution scans of hundreds of newspaper front pages from around the world.

IPL Newspapers Collection
Large collection of links to current issues of online newspapers from around the world.

 

Historical Newspapers

British Newspapers 1600-1950
A comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive providing access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles.

United States--19th Century Newspapers
Includes digital facsimiles of nearly 250 American historical newspapers from the 19th century.

Early American Newspapers
Series I, II, and III. Includes full text and images from hundreds of historical newspapers from 1690-1922.

Chronicling America--Historic American Newspapers
Search and view American newspaper pages from 1880-1910.

Subject Specific Newspapers

 

Microform collection of college and independent publications, primarily from the mid to late 1960's.

AP Images

Image of a woman holding a newspaper

A sales clerk, center, holds a newspaper as she attends to customers, left, at a book store in New Delhi, India, Tuesday, May 22, 2007. Obituaries for newspapers are already being written in the United States but more than 150 million people read a newspaper every day in India, compared to 97 million Americans. (AP Photo/Gurinder Osan)

For this and other images, try the AP (Associated Press) Images database.  AP Images contains over 3.5 million news photographs from the 1840's through today, with more than 3,000 photos being added on a daily basis. Additionally, users can search through over 100,000 graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs.

Searching for Individual Titles

Search our E-Journal/E-Book Portal for individual newspaper titles that Joyner Library carries in electronic format.

Search our Library Catalog for individual newspaper titles that Joyner Library receives in print.