Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 7005: Theses & Dissertations

Bibliography and Methods

Theses & Dissertations done at ECU

Dissertations and Theses at ECU
Provides abstracts and in some cases full text of dissertations of ECU students. This service is provided to universities that actively publish their graduate students' dissertations with ProQuest's UMI® Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations @ enables individual universities to access the citations and abstracts of all their student's dissertations, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available. Years of Coverage: 1978 -- Current

Keep in mind that the date range covered by the database above only includes partial coverage going back to the year 1978 so earlier papers and those not included in the database must be searched using the library catalog

To locate a specific thesis or dissertation, you may search by author's name, title, or subject. It is also possible to browse the theses and dissertations written for each academic department or school.

To find the dissertations written for the CRM program you should type in East Carolina University. Coastal Resources Management Program, as an author keyword search or choose the Browse search option and use the Author field.

 

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. You can use the database to search what others have written for their paper or to help develop a topic.

ETDs at ECU

The process and procedures for preparing your electronic dissertation are detailed on the ECU Graduate School's web pages at:  http://libguides.ecu.edu/vireo/etd/formatting_manual

In addition to filing your dissertation electronically with Proquest you will have the opportunity to deposit your EDT into the East Carolina University's institutional respository, called the ScholarShip.

For more information about the ScholarShip see the Joyner Library Scholarly Communication Guide.

Theses & Dissertations done elsewhere

Theses and dissertations from other Institutions:

Proquest Dissertations and Theses is the place to start if you are looking for dissertations written at any institution. Many dissertations listed are available via full-text PDF but not all. If you encounter one you cannot access contact Library's Interlibrary Loan Services to try to borrow a copy of any dissertation from the author's institution (at no cost to the requestor).

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog is a free source for searching for theses and dissertations housed in institutional repositories worldwide. Records provide abstracts of the work, along with a link to the full text, usually in PDF format, if available to the public. Searchable by title, author, subject, keyword, or institution. The NDLTD is part of the EDT Digital Library,which provides links to additional sites that provide electronic theses and dissertations.