Research Guides: PBL Library Resources: Alternative & Complementary

Link Problems

We all know that Links do break - if the database links listed don’t work,

1) go to https://hsl.ecu.edu/

2) click on Find Databases OR View all ECU Libraries' resources.

3) select the database you need from the subject or alphabetic list

4) let us know

Thanks - Heidi Reis

Laupus Hours

Laupus Library Regular Hours

Mon-Thurs 7:30am-12:00am
Friday 7:30am - 8:00pm
Saturday 9:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday 10:00am - 12:00am

Detailed Operating Hours
For holiday hours, exam hours, and more

Where to Start

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes journals, reports, pamphlets, booklets, book excerpts.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.
CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical insight engine designed to quickly return point-of-care, educational, and research information with a single keyword search. MEDLINE citations, research articles, book chapters, point-of-care summaries, images, charts, graphs, and video procedures are all included in result sets. ClinicalKey replaces Elsevier's longstanding MD Consult, Procedures Consult, and First Consult platforms.
MEDLINE via Ovid This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.
MEDLINE via PubMed This link opens in a new window
This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.
This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Search for summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care

For more database suggestions, go to https://www.lib.ecu.edu/databases/subject/alt-medicine

Ask-a-Librarian

Chat with a librarian is available 9-5 Monday-Saturday.

You can also contact a librarian.

Call us:

1-888-820-0522 (toll free)

252-744-2230

Or email us:

laupuslibrary@ecu.edu