Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PBL Library Resources: Finding Articles

Just need full text?

If you already have a citation you can use the Citation Linker to find the full text.

If you are searching within a database, use the  button to locate the full text.

Having Problems?

Step by Step Help Sheet

Document Delivery

CAN'T FIND FULL TEXT?

If we don't have access to an article you need, don't worry. We have a service called Document Deliver/ILL that can retrieve articles from other libraries.  We can also send you materials located at Laupus or Joyner if you are unable to come to the library in person.

Check out our Document Delivery/ILL page for more information.

 Are you a PubMed user?  Ask us about Loansome Doc.  It's a quick and easy way to request the articles you need.

Searching for Articles on a Specific Topic

The following electronic resource(s) (or databases) are the most appropriate places to start looking for articles.  Keep in mind that you may have to look in several places to find all the information you need.

Most of the time, PubMed is the best place to start looking for journal articles. It covers public health literature, as well as other disciplines.  It is a government sponsored database and is widely available to healthcare agencies.  You will probably have access to this database when you are practicing your profession.  It is found here:

MEDLINE via PubMed

Another good place to search is Medline via Ovid, this database requires more of a structured search. You may need some instruction on how to use this database.

MEDLINE via Ovid

You can also use CINAHL to look for journal articles.  For the most part this database covers nursing and allied health literature; however, you can find evidence-based healthcare, health services and information management  as well as a few other disciplines.  It is found here:

The Cochrane Library

 The Cochrane Collaboration is an international, independent, not-for-profit organisation of over 27,000 contributors from more than 100 countries, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available worldwide. Our contributors work together to produce systematic assessments of healthcare interventions, known as Cochrane Reviews, which are published online in The Cochrane Library. Cochrane Reviews are intended to help providers, practitioners and patients make informed decisions about health care, and are the most comprehensive, reliable and relevant source of evidence on which to base these decisions.

 You'll find HELP for these and other databases at http://libguides.ecu.edu/laupushelpsheets

Link Problems

We all know that Links do break - if the database links listed don’t work, 

     1) go to https://hsl.ecu.edu/

     2)  click on Find Databases OR View all ECU Libraries' resources.

     3) select the database you need from the subject or alphabetic list

     4) let us know

Thanks - Kathy Cable

Librarian to the Brody School of Medicine

Kathy Cable's picture
Kathy Cable
Contact:
Laupus Library - 2528

600 Moye Blvd

Greenville NC 27858

252-744-3222

Laupus Hours

An image of the outside of the library building

Laupus Library Regular Hours

Mon-Thurs              7:30am-12:00am
Friday                       7:30am - 8:00pm
Saturday                  9:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday                    Noon - 12:00am
 

Laupus Library Summer Hours
Mon-Thurs              7:30am - 10:00pm
Friday                       7:30am - 8:00pm
Saturday                  9:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday                    Noon - 10:00pm