Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PBL Library Resources: Home

Thanks!

Many thanks to the

  • Health Sciences Library at the University of California, San Diego for permission to use material from their PBL LibGUide - Problem-based Learning & Finding the Evidence
  • Health Sciences Library at the University of Denver for permission to adapt their handout "Answering Clinical Questions in Real Time" 

Ask-a-Librarian

Chat with a librarian is only available 9a-5p Monday-Saturday.

Need to contact a librarian? Click here!

Or call us:

1-888-820-0522 (toll free)

252-744-2230

Laupus Hours

An image of the outside of the library building

Laupus Library Regular Hours

Mon-Thurs              8:00am-10:00pm
Friday                     8:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday                 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday                   9:00am - 10:00pm

Laupus Library Summer Hours
Mon-Thurs              8:00am - 8:00pm
Friday                      8:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday                 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday                    9:00am - 5:00pm

What is Problem Based Learning (PBL)

The PBL process is an ordered, systematic instructional approach that models the process by which clinicians systematically approach real-life problems.

It provides a stimulus for self-directed learning following defined steps and it challenges students to work cooperatively.

It prepares students to think critically and analytically, and to find appropriate learning resources.

Brody School of Medicine. (January-February 2013). Problem based learning facilitator handbook. Unpublished handbook.

 

Guide Overview

Alternative and Complementary Medicine - Where to find information on herbal supplements, accupuncture, etc.

Recommended Databases--Databases, tools, diagnostic tests, drug information

Goverment and Grey Literature Sources - CDC, USPSTF, etc. 

Evidence Based Practice - What it is and how to find it.

Finding Articles - How to locate full text once you have the citation.

Finding Books - Searching for books, both print and electronic. 

Finding Images & Videos - Where to start.

Keeping up with PBL - What are some of the key resources?  What's new in the Medical literature?

Searching Tips - Tips for searching databases, forming a search question, and more... 

Heidi Reis

Profile Photo
Heidi Reis
she/her/hers
Contact:
Office: 2528 Health Sciences Building
Phone: 252-744-3222

Laupus Computer Lab

The Computer Lab provides many services including an equipment loan programposter printing, and access to special software programs.