Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introductory Information Literacy Module for Hospitality Leadership: Library Basics

Tutorial Overviews

 Tutorial Transcript

Tutorial 1: Research Basics


Introduction to:

  • Choosing a topic
  • Researching background information on a topic

Remember, If you need help finding out where to look for a topic, ask a librarian.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tutorial 2: The Information Timeline

 

The Information Timeline introduces the five different types of information sources that you might need to use while you’re in college.  The type of information you will use depends on your topic, how much information is available, and when the event occurred.

Information Sources include:

  1. News Websites or Broadcast Media
  2. Newspapers 
  3. Magazines 
  4. Scholarly Journals
  5. Scholarly Books

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tutorial 3: Evaluating Resources

 


Evaluating Resources compares and contrasts the characteristics of three different types of resources needed for college-level research:

  • Scholarly Articles
  • Popular Articles
  • Trade Journals

 

 

 

 

 Tutorial 4: Understanding Databases


  This tutorial will focus on the most common method of finding articles: searching by topic or subject in a  library databases. 

Main concepts include:

  • What is a database?
  • Fulltext, Citation-only, and a mix of both database types
  • Multidisciplinary v. Subject-Specific Databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tutorial 5: Library Catalog

 


 

Whenever you need to find items located in any library, you will use that library’s catalog to locate the items.  Most library catalogs have some search features in common.  Popular search options reviewed in this tutorial include:

  • Keyword Searching
  • Author Searching
  • Title Searching
  • Limit by Specific Format
  • Limit by Collection

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Tutorial 6: Introduction to the Library Homepage


Understanding the layout of the library home page is important for finding the tools you will use most frequently to do research. We will cover the five most frequently used links in this Guide on the Side tutorial.  They are:
  •  Ask a Librarian
  •  Frequently Asked Questions
  •  Catalog
  •  Databases
  •  E-Journal/E-book Portal

The Research Process

The Information Timeline

Evaluating Resources

Understanding Databases

Constructing Searches

Joyner Library Website Tour

Click for Guide on the Side

Guide on the Side is a tutorial that will appear on the left side of your internet browser. It will walk you around the Joyner Library homepage while the website is still active.