There is growing awareness of the tremendous impact Latino writers have had on the recent literary scene, yet not all readers have the background to fully appreciate the merits and meanings of works like "House on Mango Street," "Line of the Sun," "Bless Me Ultima," and "In the Time of Butterflies." Offering analysis of their most important, popular, and frequently assigned fictional works, this book surveys the contributions of eight notable Latino writers: Julia Alvarez, Rodolfo Anaya, Sandra Cisneros, Junot Diaz, Christina Garia, Oscar Hijuelos, Ortiz Cofer, and Ernesto Quinonez.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature is by far the most comprehensive work of its kind ever written. Its three volumes cover the whole sweep of Latin American literature (including Brazilian) from pre-Columbian times to the present, and contain chapters on Latin American writing in the USA. Over forty specialists in North America, Latin America and Britain have contributed to what is not only the most reliable, up-to-date, and convenient reference work on its subject, but also a set of books containing innovative approaches and fresh research that will expand and animate the field for years to come. The History is unique in its thorough coverage of previously neglected areas, in its detailed discussion of countless writers in various genres, and in its inclusion of extensive annotated bibliographies. Volume 1 begins with pre-Columbian traditions and their first contact with European culture, continuing through to the end of the nineteenth century. New World historiography, epic poetry, theatre, the novel, and the essay form are among the areas covered in this comprehensive and authoritative treatment.
A breathtaking achievement, this Concise Companion is a suitable crown to the astonishing production in African American literature and criticism that has swept over American literary studies in the last two decades. It offers an enormous range of writers-from Sojourner Truth to FrederickDouglass, from Zora Neale Hurston to Ralph Ellison, and from Toni Morrison to August Wilson. It contains entries on major works (including synopses of novels), such as Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Richard Wright's Native Son, and Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun.
European explorers reached North America more than 400 years ago, and since that time Native Americans have had to struggle to survive. Yet, despite injustices both past and present, the Native American community has persevered over the centuries. The new, three-volume Encyclopedia of Native American History offers a comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events, and topics in American Indian history. Researchers and students alike will benefit from the in-depth coverage of tribes, notable leaders and events, customs, dress, dwellings, weapons, government, religion, and more. Covering the period from the first human settlements in the Americas to the present day, this set features black-and-white photographs, an insert of full-color maps, an appendix, and cross-references. Written for high school and college students as well as the general public, this resource will be invaluable to anyone interested in learning about this fascinating topic.
Asian American literature dates back to the close of the 19th century, and during the years following World War II it significantly expanded in volume and diversity. Monumental in scope, this encyclopedia surveys Asian American literature from its origins through 2007. Included are more than 270 alphabetically arranged entries on writers, major works, significant historical events, and important terms and concepts. Thus the encyclopedia gives special attention to the historical, social, cultural, and legal contexts surrounding Asian American literature and central to the Asian American experience. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and cites works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography of essential print and electronic resources. While literature students will value this encyclopedia as a guide to writings by Asian Americans, the encyclopedia also supports the social studies curriculum by helping students use literature to learn about Asian American history and culture, as it pertains to writers from a host of Asian ethnic and cultural backgrounds, including Afghans, Chinese, Japanese, Koreans, Filipinos, Iranians, Indians, Vietnamese, Hawaiians, and other Asian Pacific Islanders. The encyclopedia supports the literature curriculum by helping students learn more about Asian American literature. In addition, it supports the social studies curriculum by helping students learn about the Asian American historical and cultural experience.
For more than two hundred years, Jews have played important roles in the development of American literature. The Cambridge Companion to Jewish American Literature addresses a wide array of themes and approaches to the distinct yet multifaceted body of Jewish American literature. Essays examine writing from the 1700s to major contemporary writers such as Saul Bellow and Philip Roth. Topics covered include literary history, immigration and acculturation, Yiddish and Hebrew literature, popular culture, women writers, literary theory and poetics, multilingualism, the Holocaust, and contemporary fiction. This collection of specially commissioned essays by leading figures discusses Jewish American literature in relation to ethnicity, religion, politics, race, gender, ideology, history, and ethics, and places it in the contexts of both Jewish and American writing. With its chronology and guides to further reading, this volume will prove valuable to scholars and students alike.
Finding Articles about a Topic
Online Databases: To search for articles and background information about Ethnic Literatures--including Latino/Latina, African American,Native American, Asian, and World Indigenous Literatures--try these databases:
Collects poetry by the most important African American poets of the 20th century. Contains over 9,000 poems from over 100 complete editions by 46 poets, including Rita Dove, Robert Hayden, and Langston Hughes. Also includes biographies.
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The eHRAF database is unique in that information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
Contains information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. Includes books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, Native Americans, and much more.
Provides full-text access to collections of poetry, drama, fiction, and literary criticism from Chadwyck-Healey. Includes access to African American Poetry, American Drama 1714-1915, American Poetry, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- (ABELL), Bibliography of American Literature, Canadian Poetry, Early American Fiction, Early English Prose Fiction, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, English Drama, English Poetry, English Poetry Second Edition, The Faber Poetry Library, King James Bible, Nineteenth-Century Fiction, Twentieth-Century African American Poetry, Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Twentieth-Century Poetry, and Twentieth-Century English Poetry. Collections are cross-searchable through the Literature Online interface.
Literature and Life- Five chapters of 18th century literature movement of poetry and slave narratives. A unique collection of African-American literature and the people, ideas, and eras that the work represents.
"Literature & Life" is a PBS Documentary and Web site based on the The Givens Collection of African-American Literature, a unique assembly of books, manuscripts, and other items found in the University of Minnesota Library's Special Collections/Rare books department. This vast and varied collection is culled from centuries of African-American literary art.
A list of resources that includes information about multi-ethnic literatures from the colonial and post-colonial periods. Includes resources about African-American, Asian American, Native American, Jewish American, Arab American, and Hispanic American literature.