This volume, designed with the student reader in mind, is an indispensable blend of key essays in the field with specially commissioned new material by feminist scholars from the UK and the US. It includes a diversity of texts and feminist approaches, a substantial and very illuminating introduction by the editors, and an annotated list of Further Reading, offering preliminary guidance to the reader approaching the topic of gender and medieval literature for the first time. Students of both medieval and feminist literature will find this an essential work for study and reference.
The encyclopedia details the panoply of events, people, ideas, and movements that have come to define this era with some 2,000 entries presenting a thorough examination of rulers, artists and writers, religious figures and events.
This volume contains twelve essays that describe the writing of history in medieval Western Europe. Each chapter examines a type of subject matter about which medieval historians wrote, and discusses both the texts and the modern approaches to these texts. The authors include both historians and literary scholars.
Comprehensive in scope, meticulous in scholarship, and accessible in style to general readers and specialists alike, this encyclopedia offers full coverage of the myriad roles, experiences, and contributions of women in the medieval world. Written by leading scholars in a variety of fields, "Women in the Middle Ages" offers more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries that conclude with extensive bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources.
This Concise Companion launches students into the study of English Renaissance literature through the central contexts that informed it. Places the poetry within contexts such as: economics; religion; empire and exploration; education, humanism and rhetoric; censorship and patronage; royal marriage and succession; treason and rebellion; "others" in England; private lives; cosmology and the body; and life-writing. Incorporates recent developments in the field, as well as work soon to be published. Entices students to explore the subject further. Provides new syntheses that will be of interest to scholars. All the contributors are highly regarded scholars and teachers.
The complex topics of colonialism, empire and nation run throughout English Renaissance literature. Here, the author moves beyond recent work on England's "British" colonial interests, arguing for England's self-image in the sixteenth century as an "empire of itself", part of a culture which deliberately set itself apart from Britain and Europe.
This book addresses works of the European Renaissance as they relate both to the world of their origins and to a modern culture that turns to the early moderns for methodological provocation and renewal. It charts the most important developments in the field since the turn towards cultural and ideological features of the Renaissance imagination.
Medieval literature encompasses a broad sweep of people, cultures, and styles. ""Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature"" offers a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages; from 500 to 1500 CE. Covering not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world, this invaluable A-to-Z guide is one of the most inclusive single-volume references of its kind. Approximately 700 entries cover works, authors, and terms from the following cultures and languages: English: Old English and Middle English, ncluding Beowulf, Chaucer, morality play, Sir Thomas Malory, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Robin Hood, and Troilus and Criseyde; French: Joan of Arc, Marie de France, Parzival, The Song of Roland, and Francois Villon; Provencal: troubadours and Peire Vidal; Celtic: Cuchulain, The Mabinogion, and Ulster cycle; German: The Nibelungenlied, Tristan, Ulrich von Lichtenstein, and Gottfried von Strassburg; Old Norse: Egil's Saga, skaldic poetry, and Snorri Sturluson; Latin: Peter Abelard, Bede, Geoffrey of Monmouth, Historia Regum Britanniae, Psychomachia, and St. Augustine of Hippo; Japanese: Muromachi Period, The Pillow Book, and The Tale of Genji; Chinese: The Story of Ying-ying and Li Po; Islamic: Omar Khayyam, the Koran, and The Thousand and One Nights; Indian: Govindadasa and Mahadeviyakka; Spanish; Hebrew; and more.
Continuum's Introductions to British Literature and Culture series provide practical guides to key literary periods. Guides in the series help to orientate students as they begin a new module or area of study, providing concise information on the historical, cultural, literary and critical context and acting as an initial map of the knowledge needed to study the literature and culture of a specific period. Each guide includes an overview of the historical period, intellectual contexts, major genres, critical approaches and a guide to original research and resource materials in the area, enabling students to progress confidently to further study. The Guide to Medieval Literature and Culture provides students with the ideal introduction to literature and its context from the 7th to 15th centuries, including: - the historical, cultural and intellectual background including religion and philosophy; society and politics; art and culture - major works and genres including religious literature; history writing; drama; Chaucer; Langland - concise explanations of key terms needed to understand the literature and criticism - key critical approaches to medieval literature from the Renaissance to the present - a chronology mapping historical events and literary works and further reading including websites and electronic resources.
Providing a wealth of information, this A-to-Z encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance. Spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, this guide examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Coverage includes not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania. Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature, Second Edition is ideal for anyone interested in the literature of the Renaissance. Literary and historical terms are also included.This new updated edition contains a revised and expanded biography of Shakespeare, as well as new entries entitled Theaters in Shakespeare's Day, Shakespeare's Audience, and England: Literary Culture in the Renaissance. Coverage includes: ul style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11 English:drama and the theater in Elizabethan times; John Milton; the first great translations of the Bible; and an expanded biography of William Shakespeare French: Montaigne and Ren#65533; DescartesGerman: Jakob Bohme and Martin LutherItalian: Boccaccio and MachiavelliSpanish: Miguel de Cervantes and Garcilaso de la VegaThe Netherlands: Erasmus and moral and devotional worksChinese: The Dream of the Red Chamber and Chinese women writersIndian: mystical verse and Indian dramaConquest and New World literature: The Royal Commentaries of the IncasIslamic: Ibn Rushd and martyrologiesand more.
The guide to Renaissance Literature and Culture provides students with the ideal introduction to literature and its context from 1533-1642, including: - the historical, cultural and intellectual background including religion, politics, exploration and visual culture - major writers and genres including Spenser, Sidney, Marlowe, Shakespeare and Jonson - concise explanations of key terms needed to understand the literature and criticism - key critical approaches to modernism from contemporary critics to the present - a chronology mapping historical events and literary works and further reading including websites and electronic resources.
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.
The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through quotations from a wide range of international English language sources. Covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. Offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Medieval history websites and blogs are among the most interesting and diverse bloggers on the web, with a wide variety of in-depth information and resources available. Online medieval projects are being produced by universities, groups and individuals, which allows students and scholars great access to resources. In this section on Medieval History Websites, we will list the latest news about what can be found on the Internet relating to the Middle Ages, including digitization projects, online collections and social networking.
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne’s thread through the maze of information on the Web.
Provides information on medieval, renaissance, 17th and 18th century authors, with the full text of selected works, and additional materials including biographical sketches, book reviews, essays, and graphics.
Early Modern Resources is a research portal for the early modern period (c.1500-1800 CE). It only lists websites that are free to access and focuses on high-quality resources that are suitable for advanced research, study and teaching.
The lists of resources and sites for the Renaissance and Elizabethan periods include full texts versions of selected works and information about sociocultural influences on the literature written between the 14th and 17th centuries and during the reign of England's Elizabeth I.
A list of resources from George Mason University's Department of English provides information about the literature, culture, politics, and society of the Medieval and Renaissance periods. Emphasis is placed on the works of William Shakespeare and Edmund Spenser.