"These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization."
"Lumen materials aim to deliver an active learning experience. They include text, images, videos, assessments, directed feedback, practice questions, simulations, and other interactives that invite students to apply their knowledge, improve their understanding, and perform better."
"MERLOT search engine provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
Open SUNY textbooks is a publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants and SUNY Geneseo. Textbooks are written by faculty experts
"OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners."
Search engine covering major subjects; toolkits available for teachers and authors to adopt and create OERs, respectively.
Search engine for curated OER materials that instructors can adopt and adapt for their classroom.
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural AnthropologyEdited by L. Gonzales, N. Brown, & T. McIlwraith
“We are delighted to bring to you this novel textbook, a collection of chapters on the essential topics in cultural anthropology. Different from other introductory textbooks, this book is an edited volume with each chapter written by a different author. …Our approach to cultural anthropology is holistic. We see the interconnectedness of cultural practices and, in all of the chapters, we emphasize the comparison of cultures and the ways of life of different peoples.”
The Art of Being Human: A Textbook for Cultural Anthropologyby Michael Wesch
"In this unique book, Dr. Michael Wesch shares many of his own adventures of being an anthropologist and what the science of human beings can tell us about the art of being human. This special first draft edition is a loose framework for more and more complete future chapters and writings. It serves as a companion to anth101.com, a free and open resource for instructors of cultural anthropology."
The History of our Tribe: Hominiby Barbara Welker
"This text is designed for a course on Human Evolution but can also serve as an introductory text for relevant sections of courses in Biological or General Anthropology or general interest. It is both a comprehensive technical reference for relevant terms, theories, methods, and species and an overview of the people, places, and discoveries that have imbued paleoanthropology with such fascination, romance, and mystery."
Speaking of Cultureby Nolan Weil
“The title of this book is Speaking of Culture and its purpose is to define culture and other concepts associated with it. My hope is that the readings in this book will help you to better understand the breadth of the concept of culture and provide you with a vocabulary for discussing it more articulately.”
by L. Rittenberg & T. Tregarthen
"...To ensure students realize that economics is a unified discipline and not a bewildering array of seemingly unrelated topics, we develop the presentation of microeconomics and of macroeconomics around integrating themes. The integrating theme for microeconomics is the marginal decision rule, a simple approach to choices that maximize the value of some objective."
Modern Microeconomicsby S. Rode
This online book discusses the advanced version of traditional microeconomic theories.
Microeconomicsby Lumen Learning
"This course provides a strong foundation in microeconomic theory, whether preparing for further study in economics, the social sciences, business, or other disciplines."
by D. Curtis & I. Irvine
"Principles of Microeconomics provides a concise, yet complete, coverage of introductory microeconomic theory, application and policy in a Canadian and global environment. Our beginning is orthodox: We explain and develop the standard tools of analysis in the discipline..."
by MIT OpenCourseware
"This course introduces microeconomic concepts and analysis, supply and demand analysis, theories of the firm and individual behavior, competition and monopoly, and welfare economics. Students will also be introduced to the use of microeconomic applications to address problems in current economic policy throughout the semester."
by UNC System Digital Course Enhancement Initiative
Module content includes the market model; measuring market welfare; analyzing market failure; elasticities; and firm production and cost.
Macroeconomicsby Lumen Learning
“This macroeconomics course prepares students to think like economists and analyze decisions made by individuals, businesses, and governments. Students will learn about the key macroeconomic indicators of GDP, unemployment, and inflation, then apply these concepts to analyze economic behavior.”
Macroeconomics: Theory Through Applicationsby A. John & R. Cooper
“The intended audience of the textbook is first-year undergraduates taking courses on the principles of macroeconomics and microeconomics. Many may never take another economics course. We aim to increase their economic literacy both by developing their aptitude for economic thinking and by presenting key insights about economics that every educated individual should know."
Principles of Macroeconomicsby D. Curtis and I. Irvine
“Examples are domestic and international in their subject matter and are of the modern era — financial markets, monetary and fiscal policies aimed at inflation and debt control, globalization and the importance of trade flows in economic structure, and concerns about slow growth and the risk of deflation, are included.
Principles of Macroeconomics“The chapters themselves are written using a “modular” format. In particular, chapters generally consist of three main content sections that break down a particular topic into manageable parts. Each content section contains not only an exposition of the material at hand but also learning objectives, summaries, examples, and problems. Each chapter is introduced with a story to motivate the material and each chapter ends with a wrap-up and additional problems."
by UNC System Digital Course Enhancement Initiative
Topics covered include GDP, economic growth, and inflation rate; using a macroeconomic model to explain economic fluctuation; fiscal policies; and U.S. public debt.
by D. Dorrell, J. Henderson, T. Lindley, & G. Connor
"Geography is a diverse discipline that has some sort of connection to most every other academic discipline. This connection is the spatial perspective, which essentially means if a phenomenon can be mapped, it has some kind of relationship to geography."
Physical Geographyby Lumen Learning
"Physical Geography, also called earth science, is the study of our home planet and all of its components: its lands, waters, atmosphere, and interior. In this book, some chapters are devoted to the processes that shape the lands and impact people."
World Regional Geographyby Caitlin Finlayson
"World Regional Geography presents an overview of the discipline by introducing students to key themes and concepts in the discipline of geography through a study of the world’s regions. This text approaches geography as experts understand the discipline, focusing on connections and an in-depth understanding of core themes."
by Lumen Learning
Topics include American politics, the Constitution, Founding of America, federalism, civil liberties, branches of govenment, and etc.
American Government and Politics in the Information Ageby University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing
“This text is a comprehensive introduction to the vital subject of American government and politics. Governments decide who gets what, when, how (See Harold D. Lasswell, Politics: Who Gets What, When, How, [New York: McGraw-Hill, 1936]); they make policies and pass laws that are binding on all a society's members; they decide about taxation and spending, benefits and costs, even life and death."
by David L. Paletz
“In covering American government and politics, our text introduces the intricacies of the Constitution, the complexities of federalism, the meanings of civil liberties, and the conflicts over civil rights; explains how people are socialized to politics, acquire and express opinions, and participate in political life; describes interest groups, political parties, and elections—the intermediaries that link people to government and politics; details the branches of government and how they operate; and shows how policies are made and affect people’s lives."
Psychologyby R. M. Spielman, K. Dumper, W. Jenkins, A. Lacombe, M. Lovett, & M. Perlmutter
"Psychology is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe."
Introduction to Psychologyby C. Stangor & J. Walinga
"This book is designed to help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level. The focus on behaviour and empiricism has produced a text that is better organized, has fewer chapters, and is somewhat shorter than many of the leading books. The beginning of each section includes learning objectives; throughout the body of each section are key terms in bold followed by their definitions in italics; key takeaways, and exercises and critical thinking activities end each section."
Together: The Science of Social Psychology"This textbook presents core concepts common to introductory social psychology courses. The 8 units include 27 modules covering key social psych topics such as research methods, group processes, social influence, and relationships."
Psychology as a Social ScienceEdited by Peter Lindberg
This textbook includes 10 units and 38 modules that include learning objectives, discussion questions, and vocabulary. Topics cover research design, biological basis of behavior, sensation and perception, cognition and language, development, social psychology, personality, emotions, motivation, and well-being.
Educational Psychologyby K. Seifert & R. Sutton
"In general the first half of the book focuses on broader questions and principles taken from psychology per se, and the second half focuses on somewhat more practical issues of teaching. But the division between “theory” and “practice” is only approximate; all parts of the book draw on research, theory, and practical wisdom wherever appropriate. "
Development Psychologyby William Pelz
Topics cover growth and development through the life span including physical, social, cognitive and neurological development. Topics covered included daycare, education, disabilities, parenting, types of families, gender identity and roles, career decisions, illnesses and treatments, and aging.
Psychology through the Lifespanby A. Beyer & J. Lazzara
This text covers an age theme approach to lifespan developmental psychology.
PsychologyPublished by Boundless
Text covers foundation topics, sensation, perception, states of consciousness, learning, cognition, social psychology, personality, and more topics. Text is accompanied by lecture slides and quiz files.
Boundless Sociologyby Lumen Learning
Introduction to Sociologyby W. Little et al.
"Introduction to Sociology adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical introductory sociology course. In addition to comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories, we have incorporated section reviews with engaging questions, discussions that help students apply the sociological imagination, and features that draw learners into the discipline in meaningful ways."
Introduction to SociologyPublished by Openstax
"Introduction to Sociology 2e adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories."
Open Textbook Library 
Lumen Learning 
MERLOT 
Open SUNY Textbooks
OER Commons
BCcampus