Research Guides: Neurodiversity: Neurodiversity

Neurodiversity Defined

WHAT IS NEURODIVERSITY?
Although there is broad diversity across the population, some individuals are affected by neurological differences that make it particularly challenging for their communication, self-expression and interactions with others. These neurological differences include autism (ASD), Asperger's syndrome, ADHD, dyslexia, dyspraxia, dyscalculia, dysgraphia and tics.

The environments within which these individuals learn, work and live can either facilitate or inhibit their growth and development.

The purpose of this initiative is to create environments that will maximally facilitate these individuals to grow and achieve their full potential.

Source: NeurodiversityHub

Articles on Neurodiversity

50 MUST-READ BOOKS ABOUT NEURODIVERSITY, By JAIME HERNDON, 06-07-18
Center for Neurodiversity. The Center for Neurodiversity aims to advance an understanding of the benefits of a neurodiverse society. Landmark College, Outney, Vermont
Effective Autism (Neurodiversity) Employment: A Legal Perspective, by Michael Bernick, Jan 15, 2019, 10:22am, Forbes.
I nclusion Revolution! – Neurodiversity in the Workplace!, Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM), Submitted by Dr. Di Ann Sanchez SHRM-SCP, Ph.D., Aug 6, 2018
Neurodiversity: A Person, A Perspective, A Movement?, Advocacy, Autism - General, September 11, 2018, The Art of Autism
Neurodiversity: A Concept Whose Time Has Come. American Institute for Learning and Human Development. Thomas Armstrong, PhD.
Neurodiversity: Definition and Information, Disabled World
Neurodiversity: Some Basic Terms & Definitions, SEPTEMBER 27, 2014, Neurocosmopolitanism (Blog)
Neurodiversity: When you’re not flawed, just mentally different, Mark Peters, June 15, 2017, Boston Globe
Neurodiversity as a Competitive Advantage, Robert D. Austin & Gary P. Pisano, MAY–JUNE 2017, Harvard Business Review
NeurodiversityHub
Our Neurodiverse World. Austism is a valuable part of humanity's genetic legacy. Sept. 23, 2015. Slate-->Science.
The dangers of ‘neurodiversity’: why do people want to stop a cure for autism being found? The neurodiversity movement claims that autism is not a problem. This is nonsense. By Jonathan Mitchell, 19 January 2019. The Spectator.
Stanford Neurodiversity Project, Stanford University
They Don’t Want an Autism Cure. Neurodiversity advocates argue that people with autism shouldn’t be forced to fit into society, but that society should change to include and accept them. By Elizabeth Picciuto. 02.25.15 5:15 PM ET. Daily Beast.
What is Neurodiversity? Neurodiversity means many things to people. Here's my first person definition, Posted Oct 07, 2013, Psychology Today

Guidelines on Neurodiversity

FREE PubMed Research on Neurodiversity (Updated 2/2/23)

The search: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?term=neurodiversity&ac=no&user_filter=Free+Full+Text&schema=none&sort=date&size=200

Items 1-20 of 20 (Display the 20 citations in PubMed)

1.	Developmental diversity: Putting the development back into research about developmental conditions. Hens K, Van Goidsenhoven L. Front Psychiatry. 2023 Jan 6;13:986732. doi: 10.3389/fpsyt.2022.986732. eCollection 2022. PMID: 36684021 Free PMC article. Review.
2.	Social Attention: Developmental Foundations and Relevance for Autism Spectrum Disorder. Falck-Ytter T, Kleberg JL, Portugal AM, Thorup E. Biol Psychiatry. 2022 Oct 20:S0006-3223(22)01695-X. doi: 10.1016/j.biopsych.2022.09.035. Online ahead of print. PMID: 36639295 Review.
3.	Editorial: Looking at it from a different angle: Positive aspects and strengths associated with neurodevelopmental disorders. Hoogman M, Zhang F, Greven CU. Front Psychiatry. 2022 Dec 23;13:1111086. doi: 10.3389/fpsyt.2022.1111086. eCollection 2022. PMID: 36620682 Free PMC article. No abstract available.
4.	Access to employment: A comparison of autistic, neurodivergent and neurotypical adults' experiences of hiring processes in the United Kingdom. Davies J, Heasman B, Livesey A, Walker A, Pellicano E, Remington A. Autism. 2023 Jan 4:13623613221145377. doi: 10.1177/13623613221145377. Online ahead of print. PMID: 36597955
5.	The role of nutrients in human neurodevelopment and their potential to prevent neurodevelopmental adversity. Heland S, Fields N, Ellery SJ, Fahey M, Palmer KR. Front Nutr. 2022 Nov 22;9:992120. doi: 10.3389/fnut.2022.992120. eCollection 2022. PMID: 36483929 Free PMC article. Review.
6.	Development and validation of the conversation questionnaire: A psychometric measure of communication challenges generated from the self-reports of autistic people. Wilson AC. Autism Dev Lang Impair. 2022 Sep 4;7:23969415221123286. doi: 10.1177/23969415221123286. eCollection 2022 Jan-Dec. PMID: 36438158 Free PMC article.
7.	Neuropsychiatric Consequences of COVID-19: What Do We Know So Far? Machado S, Murillo-Rodriguez E, Imperatori C, Souza de Sá Filho A. Alpha Psychiatry. 2022 Jul 1;23(4):155-156. eCollection 2022 Jul. PMID: 36425739 Free PMC article. No abstract available.
8.	Knowing and accepting oneself: Exploring possibilities of self-awareness among working autistic young adults. Bertilsdotter Rosqvist H, Hultman L, Hallqvist J. Autism. 2022 Nov 21:13623613221137428. doi: 10.1177/13623613221137428. Online ahead of print. PMID: 36409056
9.	A qualitative and quantitative study of self-reported positive characteristics of individuals with ADHD. Schippers LM, Horstman LI, van de Velde H, Pereira RR, Zinkstok J, Mostert JC, Greven CU, Hoogman M. Front Psychiatry. 2022 Oct 12;13:922788. doi: 10.3389/fpsyt.2022.922788. eCollection 2022. PMID: 36311492 Free PMC article.
10.	Autism as emergent and transactional. Green J. Front Psychiatry. 2022 Oct 7;13:988755. doi: 10.3389/fpsyt.2022.988755. eCollection 2022. PMID: 36304560 Free PMC article. Review.
11.	Cutting our own keys: New possibilities of neurodivergent storying in research. Bertilsdotter Rosqvist H, Botha M, Hens K, O'Donoghue S, Pearson A, Stenning A. Autism. 2022 Oct 19:13623613221132107. doi: 10.1177/13623613221132107. Online ahead of print. PMID: 36259512
12.	The use of language in autism research. Monk R, Whitehouse AJO, Waddington H. Trends Neurosci. 2022 Nov;45(11):791-793. doi: 10.1016/j.tins.2022.08.009. Epub 2022 Sep 29. PMID: 36184384
13.	The Human Spectrum: A Phenomenological Enquiry within Neurodiversity. Murray D, Milton D, Green J, Bervoets J. Psychopathology. 2022 Sep 30:1-11. doi: 10.1159/000526213. Online ahead of print. PMID: 36183692
14.	The Neurodiversity Approach(es): What Are They and What Do They Mean for Researchers? Dwyer P. Hum Dev. 2022 May;66(2):73-92. doi: 10.1159/000523723. Epub 2022 Feb 22. PMID: 36158596 Free PMC article.
15.	Do Autistic People's Support Needs and Non-Autistic People's Support for the Neurodiversity Movement Contribute to Heightened Autism Stigma in South Korea vs. the US? Kim SY, Gillespie-Lynch K. J Autism Dev Disord. 2022 Sep 7:1-15. doi: 10.1007/s10803-022-05739-0. Online ahead of print. PMID: 36071317 Free PMC article.
16.	"I often have to explain to school staff what she needs". School experiences of non-autistic siblings growing up with an autistic brother or sister. Pavlopoulou G, Burns C, Cleghorn R, Skyrla T, Avnon J. Res Dev Disabil. 2022 Oct;129:104323. doi: 10.1016/j.ridd.2022.104323. Epub 2022 Aug 18. PMID: 35988460
17.	Autistic adults' views and experiences of requesting and receiving workplace adjustments in the UK. Davies J, Heasman B, Livesey A, Walker A, Pellicano E, Remington A. PLoS One. 2022 Aug 5;17(8):e0272420. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0272420. eCollection 2022. PMID: 35930548 Free PMC article.
18.	A description of virtual skills workshops for supporters of loved ones with eating disorders: Indicators of benefit and acceptability, clinical reflections and consideration of neurodiversity. Harrison A, Folk R, Proud F, Webb J, Oyeleye O, Clark Bryan D, Webb J, Webb H, Whitaker W, Dhopatkar N, Treasure J. Eur Eat Disord Rev. 2022 Sep;30(5):648-663. doi: 10.1002/erv.2939. Epub 2022 Jul 21. PMID: 35861687 Free PMC article.
19.	Untapped potential: embracing neurodiversity in medicine. Duong D, Vogel L. CMAJ. 2022 Jul 18;194(27):E951-E952. doi: 10.1503/cmaj.1096006. PMID: 35851534 Free PMC article. No abstract available.
20.	Scoping Review of Yoga in Schools: Mental Health and Cognitive Outcomes in Both Neurotypical and Neurodiverse Youth Populations. Hart N, Fawkner S, Niven A, Booth JN. Children (Basel). 2022 Jun 8;9(6):849. doi: 10.3390/children9060849. PMID: 35740786 Free PMC article. Review.

More Articles and Other Scholarly Works on Neurodiversity

Bauman Joseph, M. (2022). Predictors of post-secondary participation of neurodiverse young adults: A quantitative exploratory a posteriori study (Order No. 29169932). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (2672351203). Ret. from https://www.proquest.com/dissertations-theses/predictors-post-secondary-participation/docview/2672351203/se-2

Boyer, A., & El-Chidiac, A. . (2023). Come Chill Out at the Library: Creating Soothing Spaces for Neurodiverse Students. Journal of New Librarianship, 8(1), 41–47. https://doi.org/10.33011/newlibs/13/5

McCarthy, C. (2022), Peer mentors can boost success of neurodiverse students. Student Affairs Today, 25: 1-5. https://doi.org/10.1002/say.31093

Patrick Dwyer, Erica Mineo, Kristin Mifsud, Chris Lindholm, Ava Gurba, and T.C. Waisman. Building Neurodiversity-Inclusive Postsecondary Campuses: Recommendations for Leaders in Higher Education. Autism in Adulthood. http://doi.org/10.1089/aut.2021.0042

von Below R., Elliott Spaeth, Chiara Horlin. (2021) Autism in Higher Education: dissonance between educators’ perceived knowledge and reported teaching behaviour. International Journal of Inclusive Education 0:0, pages 1-18. https://doi.org/10.1080/10668926.2021.1972362

Current Research on Neurodiversity

Boswell, R. S. (2020). Neurodiversity, inclusive pedagogy and the need for peer support in postsecondary education. Pacific Northwest College of Art. https://www.researchgate.net/publication/352135876_Neurodiversity_Inclusive_Pedagogy_and_the_Need_for_Peer_Support_in_Postsecondary_Education_Neurodiversity_Inclusive_Pedagogy_and_the_Need_for_Peer_Support_in_Postsecondary_Education

Cierzniewska, R., & Podgórska-Jachnik, D. (2021). Neurodiversity and (semantic) space for the academic inclusion of people on the autism spectrum. Multidisciplinary Journal of School Education, 10(2 (20)), 71-88.https://czasopisma.ignatianum.edu.pl/jpe/article/download/2006/1958

Clouder, L., Karakus, M., Cinotti, A., Ferreyra, M. V., Fierros, G. A., & Rojo, P. (2020). Neurodiversity in higher education: a narrative synthesis. Higher Education, 80(4), 757-778.

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10734-020-00513-6

Dettmer, J., & Welton, K. (2023). Increasing neurodiversity awareness through a community of practice. Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education, (29).

https://journal.aldinhe.ac.uk/index.php/jldhe/article/download/1126/842

Ker, G., & van Gorp, R. (2023). EMBRACING NEURODIVERSITY: SUPPORTING LEARNERS TO SUCCESS. Contemporary Research Topics, 36.

Kim, S. Y., & Crowley, S. (2021). Understanding perceptions and experiences of autistic undergraduate students toward disability support offices of their higher education institutions. Research in Developmental Disabilities, 113, 103956.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0891422221001050?casa_token=vx22iV9teaQAAAAA:F1PwSIqMarJL7K5DrHy1S5ds4YTiS1J4RnYk8J2NkyQ3vciVEJWrhXl5rzWamjXGYCMFwBqvJyk

Kutnak, M. J. (2024). College Success for Students on the Autism Spectrum: A Neurodiversity Perspective by S. Jay Kuder, Amy Accardo, and John Woodruff. Journal of College Student Development, 65(1), 117-120.

https://muse.jhu.edu/pub/1/article/919357/pdf?casa_token=rXqmJ8dIGlUAAAAA:hM79HCzZr5OML1gl2S6OE4P79wRitKBoLZ4U87Su2qpm8ccLBEnqk8t-ooRmVXA2RI6LsUA0QQA

Mellifont, D. (2023). Ableist ivory towers: A narrative review informing about the lived experiences of neurodivergent staff in contemporary higher education. Disability & Society, 38(5), 865-886.

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1080/09687599.2021.1965547?casa_token=JIHI2SuBiicAAAAA:4a2Hc7SxQ3t_AkVQxoLk1zaryKSzhvG6BNIXs7_unbTbkWqU5fbwL_zZe_9Ne8Mhj7mtnKjy4a40wQ

Valalyte, V. J., Vaitkiene, R., & Spudyte, I. (2024). LINK BETWEEN STUDENTS’NEURODIVERSITY AND LEARNING DIFFICULTIES.https://easychair.org/publications/preprint_download/RJJR

Neurodiversity: Neurodiversity