Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5141 North Carolina and Joyner Library Special Collections Resources: Rhem/Schwarzmann Prize

Rhem/Schwarzmann Prize for Recognition of Student Research

Established by Mrs. Ann Schwarzmann to honor William and Emily Rhem and Theodore and Ann Schwarzmann, the Rhem/Schwarzmann Prize annually recognizes outstanding research papers written by sophomores, juniors and seniors at East Carolina University. Cash prizes in the amount of $750, $500 and $250 will be awarded to first-, second- and third-place winners. Submissions must adhere to the following rules: 

 

  • Papers can be in any field of study, but must be based largely on primary sources held by the J.Y. Joyner Library's Special Collections Division.
  • Each paper should be not less than 12 pages/3,000 words in length and will be judged on the basis of (a) originality of the topic or thesis; (b) quality of research; (c) quality of style, including documentation; and (d) overall excellence.
  • Papers written during the spring or fall semester of 2010 are eligible. Papers must be submitted electronically by December 31, 2010. The author must include contact information (permanent address, e-mail address, and telephone number).
  • Each paper must be submitted by the professor for whom it was written.

 

Winning papers will be chosen by a panel of three professors selected by Joyner Library's Assistant Director for Special Collections in consultation with the chairs of departments whose disciplines are closely aligned with the holdings of the Special Collections Department. The judges may elect not to award one or more of the prizes if submissions do not warrant them. Winners will be notified early in the spring semester of 2011. An award ceremony will be held prior to spring break of 2011. Award winners will be asked to discuss their papers, read excerpts from them, and tell how their research experience benefited them. 

Submissions should be sent by e-mail to John Lawrence, Assistant Director for Special Collections, J.Y. Joyner Library, East Carolina University. For more information, call 328-6601 or send an e-mail message to lawrencej@ecu.edu. Staff members of the Special Collections Department will work with students to identify fruitful topics for research. 

 

Primary sources in the Special Collections Department include holdings of the University Archives and the East Carolina Manuscript Collection. The University Archives contains original records that document the development of the university from 1907, when it was chartered, until the present. The East Carolina Manuscript Collection includes original manuscripts, records, and oral histories pertaining to North Carolina history, military history, the tobacco industry, and the work of Christian missionaries worldwide. The collection is particularly strong in the areas of U.S. Naval history and World War II. Other topics include the environment, literature, politics, and women's studies. Many of the collections document aspects of such areas of the world as Africa, China, Europe, and Latin America. The Hoover Collection on International Communism and collections of maps and rare books augment these holdings.