Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5141 North Carolina and Joyner Library Special Collections Resources: NCC Online Guides

NCC Online Guides

The North Carolina Collection has severeal online guides available for some of our resources.  They can be accessed from the NCC Home Page or by clicking any of the links below.

The North Carolina Collection home page

Guide to North Carolina Newspapers on Microfilm
Geographic and chronological guides to over 10,000 reels of newspaper microfilm, 1751-present.

Guide to County Records on Microfilm
County-level records up to the year 1900 (and in some cases later) for the following counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Wayne, Washington, and Wilson

Indexes to Census Records 1790-1930
This includes state and county level indexes and abstracts and includes selected slave schedules.

The North Carolina Periodicals Index     
The North Carolina Periodicals Index seeks to provide access to articles in North Carolina periodicals of potential interest to undergraduate students at East Carolina University, although it is expected that the index will be used by a graduate students and faculty as well. Most of the included works are not indexed in standard reference tools. The index regularly features useful articles pertaining to the arts, social sciences, and sciences.

North Carolina Links Collection
The North Carolina Links Collection is a selected list of web sites that focus on many aspects of the state including history, demographics, government, and education.  Each link is accompanied by a brief description of the contents of the site itself.

North Carolina Subject Guides
This is a small collection of subject guides maintained by the staff of the North Carolina Collection.  Subjects covered include legal research, current issues, and Greenville and Pitt County history.

Eastern North Carolina Digital Library 
Formerly known as the North Carolina History & Fiction Digital Library, the new Eastern North Carolina Digital Library offers digital access to more than 399 fiction and non-fiction volumes, 150+ museum artifacts, maps and educational material pertaining to the history of the 41 counties in Eastern North Carolina.