Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5141 North Carolina and Joyner Library Special Collections Resources: Special Collections Description and Search Tips

What You Can Find in Joyner's Special Collections

University Archives

The founding of East Carolina Teachers Training School in 1907 was a reflection of the state’s desire to improve public education through the training of teachers and thus illustrates an aspect of the Progressive Movement in North Carolina. Early records held by the University Archives document the origin and development of the school. A listing of and finding aids for some record groups in the University Archives are available through the “Browse by Repository” feature of the Special Collections Department’s Collection Guides feature:

http://digital.lib.ecu.edu/special/ead/

 

East Carolina Manuscript Collection

This collection includes many manuscripts (letters, diaries, financial records, organizational records, photographs, etc.) pertaining to North Carolina during its post-Civil War history. Individual manuscript collections can be identified by searching the Special Collections Department’s Collection Guides feature: http://digital.lib.ecu.edu/special/ead/  Finding aids describe the collections and tell which boxes in a collection should be consulted for particular material mentioned in the description.

 

The following collections are especially rich for various periods:

Late nineteenth century: Elias Carr Papers, James Yadkin Joyner Papers, William Blount Rodman Papers

Twentieth century: Frances Renfro Doak Papers, Walter B. Jones Papers, Robert Morgan Papers, Capus Miller Waynick Papers

Special Collections Search Tips

Subjects include but are not limited to:

African Americans

Ku Klux Klan

North Carolina—Economic conditions

North Carolina—Politics and government

North Carolina—Race relations

Populist Party

Public schools

Segregation

Women

            World War, 1939-1945—North Carolina

  • Use the Keyword Search to identify collections with additional or similar subject matter. Truncate words by using an asterisk (*). Search for specific phrases using quotation marks. In addition to subjects noted above, searches might include:

“civil rights” and 1960s

disfranchis*

emancipation

immigration

integration

“new deal”

segregation

sharecropping

tenant

               urban renewal