It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Much of your research for your paper will come from journals located in databases.
On this page, you will find:
A graphic showing you how to use WorldCat to find sources (left column)
A video showing you how to set up Google Scholar's Advanced Options to find journal articles (bottom right column)
A tutorial teaching you how to use a database to find articles (right column)
Links to important databases for the field of Latin American Studies
Foreign Languages research requires you to reach out to
Unlike the Library Catalog, which lists the physical and virtual holdings of ECU, you will find the books and items in other libraries on WorldCat. That means that if you find something, you may not be able to get it right away. You may have to make an Interlibrary Loan request.
First, go to Advanced Search.
On the Advanced Search page, click Add/Remove Databases.
Choose the following databases to search:
Here are the results. Click on the title of a book to see if we have it, and to request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Articles about a Topic
Online Databases: To search for articles on Latin American culture, consider using the following databases.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowSupports multiple Research Clusters. An extensive archive of American and international scholarly journals and books in the humanities, sciences, philosophy, and social sciences. Provides downloadable PDFs. Content spans 1800 – 2 years ago.
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). All abstracts are written in English. Historical Abstracts also includes book reviews from journals in the field and abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide. Content spans: 1960 - Current.
Foreign Language Databases
The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Foreign Languages.
Research Tutorial: Foreign Languages
Foreign Languages Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the MLA International Complete database.
Setting Up Google Scholar
Although this video was made by NC State, you can follow the instructions to get the ECU Libraries' links on your Google account.