Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Science: Articles

Finding Articles

Much of your research for your paper will come from scholarly journals located in databases

On this page, you will find:

  • Two tutorials teaching you how to use a database to find articles (left column)--one is a video and the other is hands on.
  • A tutorial teaching you the parts and pieces of a journal article (left column)
  • Links to important databases for the field of Library Science (right column)
  • A list of recommended journal titles for the LIBS field (right column)

Research Tutorial: Library Science

How can I see articles?

Many of our databases include the full text of articles in PDF or HTML format.  In some cases, though, the full text of an article may not be available online in the database you are using.  When you search for articles in the library's databases you will see the Find It button button on your results list. 

          By clicking that Find It! button, you can go from an article citation in one database to a full text copy of that article in another. It also allows you to find out if that journal is in print at Joyner Library or available electronically. 

One last thing about Serial Solutions and the Find It! button, if a page opens that says "Sorry no holdings were found for this journal. Please see additional options below for finding this journal."  This is when you have the opportunity to search the catalog for the journal in print, or to get a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

LISA Database Demonstration

LISA database homepage

Click on the image above for a video demonstration of the Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA) database, or click here.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: Social Sciences

View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Social Sciences.

Recommended Journals

Here is a list of recommended journals for the field of Library Science.

Library Science Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Library Science.