Research Guides: International Studies: Articles

Social Sciences Database Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the SocINDEX database.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: Social Sciences

View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Social Sciences.

InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery services to request articles, books, media, and more from other libraries when ECU libraries do not have what you need.

International Studies Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of International Studies.

Other Databases for International Studies

Population Index on the Web
From Princeton University, the primary reference tool to the world's population literature.
more...less...
It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of business and management publications. Includes journals, dissertations, working papers, key business newspapers, trade publications, country-and industry-focused reports and data. Topics covered include business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, research reviews, written by leading scientists, of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, life, physical and social sciences.
Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Provides articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, policy briefs, detailed maps and videos on international affairs. Topics include: security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies and environmental studies.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of a wide range of economics-related literature (journals, books and dissertations). An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Content spans: 1886 – current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An extensive archive of American and international scholarly journals and books in the humanities, sciences, philosophy, and social sciences.  Provides downloadable PDFs. Content spans 1800 – 2 years ago.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An extensive index of bibliographic information for sociology research. Provides records from leading sociology journals. Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

Try OneSearch!

One Search is a great place to start your research. It allows you to simultaneously search through a variety of databases and the ECU Libraries' catalog.

Newspaper Databases

The following links will take you to databases containing local, national, and international newspapers.


One Search for articles, books, and other resources from the ECU Libraries' collection.

International Studies: Articles

Finding Articles