Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Construction Management: Housing Stats/Gov Docs

Guide to Library Resources

Housing and Construction Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States
Definitive reference work containing over 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, including value of construction, cost and activity indexes, housing starts, number and characteristics of residential structures, vacancy rates, etc..  Available online:

U.S. Housing Market Statistics
Available online, this is a compilation of statistical data and written reports. Overviews of economic and housing market trends are presented for 10 geographical regions, the report for each of which includes a profile on a selected housing market. Each issue includes a summary of the overall trends in national housing and a topical piece that describes a particular, noteworthy aspect of housing activity.

Images

Washington, DC: Pension Bldg. 1882-86: Ref.: Construction photo of interior, 1883
This image and more available in ArtSTOR database.

Gov Doc Indexes

Catalog of United States Governent Publications
The finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

USA.gov
Use to search for government documents, publications, statistics.

Proquest Congressional
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text of publications from and about the U.S. Congress. It includes congressional bills, hearings, testimony, reports, committee prints, and the Congressional Record. It also includes the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations. Biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data are provided for current members of Congress.