Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hint for your Assignment
In order to complete the assignment,
you will need to search in the databases listed to the left.
It will be most helpful if you use
limiters, which include ways of sorting articles, such as:
Date (Ascending or Descending)
Limit to books, rather than articles
There are other limiters in these databases, but these will be most helpful. Screenshots of the databases you will need to use are on the right, as well.
Finding Articles about a Topic
Online Databases: To search for articles of literary criticism, consider using the following databases.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes and abstracts articles on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Years of Coverage: 1963 - Current
An extensive, fully searchable catalog of holdings for libraries worldwide.
Literature Resource Center
Provides full-text journal articles literary criticism, reviews, biographies of writers in all disciplines from all time periods.
Foreign Languages Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the MLA International Complete database.
Searching the MLA Database
You will use the database MLA Bibliography for a few of your scavenger hunt questions.
Here is what the search screen for the MLA Bibliography database looks like:
Notice that I have circled where Scholarly and Language limiters are. There are other limiters on this screen that you may wish to use, including date, and publication type.
Let's say you do a search for "Mister Taylor" and limit it to "Scholarly/Peer Reviewed". This will be the results screen.
You can also take the results and sort them by Relevance. You may wish to use the Date Descending or Date Ascending options.