It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most ISO standards are not available for free, but this link will take you to those that are, for purposes of standardization. The library has also purchased a number of ISO standards in print and electronic format -- search for these in the Joyner catalog as a title keyword search for ISO.
Supports STEAM Education Research Cluster. American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) International is a voluntary technical standards development organization whose work covers 15 engineering industries. Includes ASTM journals, symposia papers, standards, technical papers and books. Standards can be downloaded as PDF documents.
Supports the STEAM Research Cluster. Provides access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) and its publishing partners. Comprised of over four million full-text documents, it includes journals, conference reports, technical standards, and books. Covers electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Introduction to Standards & Specs
Engineers will often need to locate standards or specifications in the course of their work. A standard is "a document established by consensus and approved by a recognized body, that provides, for common and repeated use, rules, guidelines or characteristics for activities or their results, aimed at the achievement of the optimum degree of order in a given context "(definition from the ISO/IEC Guide 2:2004).
Standards may be developed by a variety of groups, such as government agencies, technical or trade associations, professional societies or associations, or international or national organizations.
ECU does not have full-text ISO standards but (budget permitting) can purchase specific standards on-demand for ECU faculty, staff, and students. Use the ILLIAD system at http://illiad.lib.ecu.edu/illiad/logon.html