A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation - U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875
Library of Congress site offering the full text of historical Congressional publications. Browse by publication or search.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Government Printing Office (GPO) site containing links to both historical documents such as the Declaration of Independence, Constitution, and Gettysburg Address, as well as current congressional and presidential documents and Supreme Court decisions for most of the 20th century.
Digital National Security Archive
Contains over 55,000 declassified documents going back to 1945. Organized into 24 collections, with topics including the Cold War, nuclear weapons, and terrorism. (ECU Users Only)
Foreign Relations of the United States
Official State Department documentary historical record of US foreign policy. Over 30 volumes covering the 1950's and 60's are now online.
GPO Access
Government Web site provides access to over 280,000 online documents, from all three main branches of government. Strongest areas of coverage are laws and regulations, recent congressional publications, and recent presidential documents.
Lexis Nexis Congressional
Indexing of congressional bills, laws, and publications from 1789 to present. Full text of bills and laws to 1988, congressional documents to 1995. Most indexed publications available in microfiche in Joyner Library Documents Collection (Basement).(ECU Users Only)
National Security Archive.
Declassified Cold War era documents from George Washington University. Topics include Latin America, nuclear weapons, and US-Chinese relations. Click on "Documents" to access online collections.
Project Avalon
Impressive database of treaties, legal codes, and other historical documents created by Yale University Law School. Can be browsed by author, chronological period, or subject area. Searchable as well.
For more sources, see our guide to Finding Historical Government Publications.
