Online Databases: Use an online database to locate articles about a topic. All of the library databases can be accessed from the Electronic Database List. If you are searching from off-campus you will be asked for a User ID and password; use your Pirate ID and password for access. To search for an article about a particular subject in history, consider using the following databases:
America - History and Life
Contains citations covering the history of the United States and Canada, published from 1964 to the present. The database indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities, including some articles in-progress. Also includes book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals and abstracts of dissertations. Citations to articles that have full text availability in either Project Muse or JSTOR now include a link to the full article. (ECU Users Only)
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It contains annotated citations to articles published from 1960-present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Historical Abstracts also includes book reviews from journals in the field and abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide. Citations to articles that have full text availability in either Project Muse or JSTOR now include a link to the full article. (ECU Users Only)
America - History and Life
Contains citations covering the history of the United States and Canada, published from 1964 to the present. The database indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities, including some articles in-progress. Also includes book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals and abstracts of dissertations. Citations to articles that have full text availability in either Project Muse or JSTOR now include a link to the full article. (ECU Users Only)
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It contains annotated citations to articles published from 1960-present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Historical Abstracts also includes book reviews from journals in the field and abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide. Citations to articles that have full text availability in either Project Muse or JSTOR now include a link to the full article. (ECU Users Only)
JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) provides the complete back files of over 200 important research journals in the humanities,social sciences and sciences. Journals are scanned, so that they include full page images that look just like the original. Coverage runs from first issue published until most recent 3-5 years. (ECU Users Only)
To view 5 basic tutorials on how to use the library, click the button below.
To view Frequently Asked Questions for the library, please visit our FAQ's page.
