African American Odyssey
This
site showcases the incomparable African American collections of the
Library of Congress. The collection contains more than 240 items,
including books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical
scores, plays, films, and recordings.
African American Perspectives - Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection 1818-1907
This
site presents a panoramic and eclectic review of African-American
history and culture, spanning almost one hundred years from the early
nineteenth through the early twentieth centuries, with the bulk of the
material published between 1875 and 1900. Among the authors represented
are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett,
Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, and Emanuel Love.
African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century
The
New York Public Library has created this Web site as part of its
digitized library collection. The site is a rich source for
nineteenth-century African-American women's literature, poetry, and
autobiography.
Africans in America
Companion
Web site to PBS documentary surveys the origins of racial slavery in
American and the global economy that prospered from it. The site
contains narrative interpretation, "resource banks" (my favorite
feature) that include annotated images and documents, and a teacher's
guide.
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Includes
the life histories of former American slaves and the transcripts of
actual slave interviews. This is an authoritative collection of Works
Progress Administration (WPA) slave narratives and the Comprehensive
Name Index for The American Slave on the Web. (ECU/NC Live Users Only)
Born in Slavery - Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Library
of Congress online exhibit contains more than 2,300 first-person
accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former
slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the
Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
Freedmen's Bureau Online
This
genealogical site offers numerous records, such as indentures, labor
contracts, marriage records, and reports of outrages and arrests,
(organized by state) from the Freedmen's Bureau papers. The site also
links to additional Freedmen's Bureau-related sites, including the
esteemed Freedmen and Southern Society Project, which has just begun to incorporate some of its many records on the internet.
