Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Students: Articles

Information on library resources for medical students

Just need full text?

If you already have a citation you can use the Citation Linker to find the full text.

If you are searching within a database, use the Find It! button to locate the full text.

Having Problems?

Step by Step Help Sheet

Interlibrary Loan

If we don't have access to an article you need, don't worry. We have a service called Interlibrary Loan that can retrieve articles, books, etc from other libraries.  We can also send you materials located at Laupus or Joyner if you are unable to come to the library in person.

Check out our Interlibrary Loan page for more information.

Searching for Articles

Where to Search

Though you can search for  research articles in the Laupus Library's OneSearch platform, the number of results may be overwhelming and not easy to reproduce. GoogleScholar can be a very useful starting point for a search, but the legitimacy of sources found in GoogleScholar may be questionable at times. Therefore, searching in a biomedical databases is suggested. 

Recommended Databases

The following electronic resources (or databases) are the most appropriate places to start looking for articles.  Keep in mind that you may have to look in several places to find all the information you need. Furthermore, if you are struggling with your search, reach out to your liaison librarian.

 

Most Relevant Databases

Additional Relevant Databases

Conducting a Search

Creating a Search: Choosing the Right Words for Your Search


Creating a Search: Using a Concept Table, Identifying Concept Groups


Creating a Search: Using a Concept Table, Identifying Related Terms and Synonyms


Creating a Search: Grouping Related Terms and Synonyms


Creating a Search: Using Boolean Operators (OR)


Creating a Search: Using Boolean Operators (AND)


Choosing Your Databases


Study Types


Search Limits

Guides on Searching for Evidence

RefWorks

Use citation management software to keep track of your references, share references and switch between reference styles

Liaison Librarian for BSOM

Profile Photo
Heidi Reis
she/her/hers
Contact:
Office: 2528 Health Sciences Building
Phone: 252-744-3222