Research Guides: Medical Students: Books

Refining OneSearch

An image of the OneSearch filter options is below; you can see how you can try to limit to print or electronic books when using the OneSearch feature

Searching Catalog

Find resources through OneSearch

You can search through most of the library's holdings of print books, ebooks, articles and videos through the OneSearch Platform on the Laupus Health Sciences Library website. Please be aware that not all library holdings are displayed through OneSearch, as some books and articles can only be found directly through the publisher's database. Furthermore, using OneSearch can return an overwhelming number of search results depending on the subject.

Electronic Books

E-Book Platforms

Some ebooks can only be found by searching the publisher/resource's database, so the following resources contain most of the ebook holdings relevant to medicine.

AccessMedicine
Foundational medical ebooks like Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine and Current Diagnosis and Treatment as well as multimedia, a DDx tool, drug information and study tools
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a clinical insight engine, searchable by keywords. Includes point-of-care information, along with books, chapters, images, charts, graphs, video procedures, point-of-care summaries, and journal citations.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
A platform for accessing and retrieving reference, scholarly and professional e-books. Topics include commerce and finance, educational theory and practice, internal medicine, religion, social and public welfare
Free Books 4 Doctors
Includes many important medical textbooks available online with unrestricted access. Free and in full-text
Gale e-Books
A full-text collection of reference books in the arts, biography, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science. Books can be browsed by subject, and articles can be searched by keyword.
LWW Health Library
Medical e-books, videos and self-assessment tools on topics like anatomy, biochemistry, behavioral science and microbiology
Psychiatry Online
Psychiatry Online is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5. Access includes DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases. Also included are journals, textbooks, guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical/research news, and patient handouts.
PubMed Bookshelf
The Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical books. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts so, when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections.
SpringerLink
Provides abstracts and full-text access to journals, books, and conference proceedings. Emphasis is on science, mathematics, and engineering but content also includes business, medicine, political science, and the humanities.
Wiley Online Library
A large multidisciplinary collection of scholarly books and journals in the life sciences, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.