Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
...with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bio-bibliographies.
Start off in the right direction by learning more about your chosen topic and gathering vocabulary terms that will help you locate more in-depth information elsewhere.
All offer topical articles and bibliographies. The articles provide knowledge and vocabulary; the bibliographies can be used to locate journal articles and books via our online catalogs.
Both print and electronic versions exist. See below for help with finding them.
Find print music dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bio-bibliographies
Library Catalog Advanced Search as follows:
For dictionaries and encyclopedias, do a "Subject" search on the subject of your choice plus the word "encyclopedias" (e.g., mozart encyclopedias)
For bio-bibliographies, do a "Subject" search on the subject of your choice plus the word "bibliography" (e.g., mozart bibliography)
Find electronic music dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bio-bibliographies
Oxford Music Online is THE online music dictionary/encyclopedia source, and searches the following:
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
New Grove Dictionary of Opera
New Grove Dictionary of American Music
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford Bibliographies - Music is a growing music bibliography with articles and lists of materials on a number of musical personalities and topics.
Ask a Music Librarian
Phone: Call our reference desk at 252-328-6250.
Email: Write your question on our e-mail form. We will answer you within 24 hours when classes are in session.
Comments or problems? Email us directly at
Book a Librarian Consultation:
We are available to consult:
Fill out the in person
online (through live chat software)
online form, and reference staff will get in touch with you to schedule the consultation.
Music Research from Start to Finish
Finding Music Resources In the Library Catalog