Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Road Map to Music Research: Two: Broaden your horizons...

...with music journal indexes.

  • A great second step because journal articles contain the most cutting-edge research in a subject area.
  • Use the vocabulary terms you learned during your exploration of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bio-bibliographies.
  • Journal indexes are electronic only, and come in several flavors: 1) with citations only, 2) with abstracts, 3) with full-text articles.  See below for links to the various types, as well as how to locate an article in print when there is no full-text version.

Links to journal article indexes

JSTOR - indexes a limited number of music journals, but those included are research staples and complete full-text coverage is provided.

Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP) - indexes many music journals with a mixture of citation-only, citation/abstract-only, and full-text offerings.

Music Index - indexes many music journals with a mixture of citation-only, citation/abstract-only, and full-text offerings.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature - also includes materials like dissertations and festschriften; citation and abstract offered for all listings.

No full-text version of the article you need?

Just follow these steps when the perfect article is not available in full-text.  We may just have the print version!

  • Access the Library Catalog.
  • Click on the "All Fields" dropdown box.
  • Choose "Journal Title" from the options provided.
  • Enter the title of the journal you seek into the "Search" box, and click the "Search" button.
  • Choose the correct journal from the hit list by clicking on the appropriate hypertext title.
  • Compare the volume number for the article you seek with the list of volume numbers in the "Holdings" portion of the catalog record.
  • Make note of both the call number and volume number for the item you need.
  • Take the note to the music library circulation desk and someone will get the item for you.

InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery services to request articles, books, media, and more from other libraries when ECU libraries do not have what you need.

 

 

 

 

WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan

Ask a Music Librarian

Chat

 

    

Phone icon

    Phone:  Call our reference desk at 252-328-6250.

    Email:  Write your question on our e-mail form.  We will answer you within 24 hours when classes are in session.

    Comments or problems?  Email us directly at musiclibrary@ecu.edu

Book a Librarian icon

   Book a Librarian Consultation:

   We are available to consult:

  • in person
  • by telephone
  • online (through live chat software)
   Fill out the online form, and reference staff will get in touch with you to schedule the consultation.

 

5 Databases Every Music Student Should Know