Research Guides: Social Work: Addictions Counseling Program: Finding Media

Looking for films and documentaries?

The databases below are comprised primarily of films. Click on a database name below to access and search their collections.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming service which delivers films from thousands of leading producers such as Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Movies, videos, and documentaries cover all genres. Topics include: the arts, business, education, global studies and languages, health, media and communications, sciences, social sciences and various instructional videos. Captioning and transcripts available.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of high quality streaming videos, including BB documentaries, Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award winning documentaries and interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels, travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Topics include: business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychitric counseling. Videos range from counseling sessions, demonstrations and consultations to lectures, presentations, and interviews. A searchable transcript is included with each video.
Health & Society in Video This link opens in a new window
Health and Society in Video is an online collection of streaming documentaries focusing on health issues and their impact on society.

Locating Videos in a Physical Format

You may search the library catalog for films housed in Joyner Library in the box to the lower left. To do the following search in the image and for more options, you may want to visit the ECU Libraries' Catalog.

Here is an example of the search in the catalog for the film Run Lola Run. First click Advanced Search under the main search box. Search for the title of the film in the section called "Title." Then, in the limiters, change the Material Group to "Videos."

The Anonymous People

The Anonymous People is a feature documentary film about the 23.5 million Americans living in long-term recovery from alcohol and other drug addiction. Find this and other films on addiction counseling topics in the Kanopy database.

Finding Films

ECU Libraries purchase video material in one of two ways:

As a physical copy (usually DVD, or in the past, VHS)
As part of a streaming video database To find a physical DVD or VHS, please visit the Joyner Library basement.

Both formats, physical and streaming, are searchable with One Search or the library catalog.