Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work: Addictions Counseling Program: Find Articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: Social Sciences

View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Social Sciences.

Social Work Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Social Work.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be used to limit to articles held in full text by ECU Libraries.

Click on the image above to access our guide on how to do this on and off campus.

Understanding Databases

Sociology Database Tutorial

Sociology Database Tutorial

Click on the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that teaches you how to search in the SocINDEX database.

E-Journal/E-Book Portal

Search Joyner Library's collection of online materials. 

An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals

Recommended Journals

Click a journal below, then choose the database within which to view it. Joyner's coverage of these titles varies, so keep an eye out for the date range. Use Interlibrary Loan (described below) if Joyner doesn't have what you need.

Databases

Tips for searching:

* If you know the test or measurement:

  • Click the database link
  • Scroll to the bottom to where you may type that into the search

* For browsing tests and measures in articles:

  • Click the database link
  • Click the search button without entering any search terms,
  • Scroll down the left side to view the available tests and measures in your results