PADM 6102: Quantitative Research for Public Administration: Specialized Data

A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

Find reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption.

Using information collected through various monitoring and reporting systems, the Children's Bureau analyzes and reports data on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.

This year, the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (the Forum) published its signature report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2015. This report features statistics on children and families in the United States.

Immigration Statistics from the Department of Homeland Security

Census information of foreign born population.

The Homelessness Data Exchange is an on-line tool designed to allow Homeless Continuums of Care to submit data to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility;.

Current Population Reports

ERS plays a leading role in Federal research on food security and food security measurement in U.S. households and communities and provides data access and technical support to social science scholars to facilitate their research on food security.

The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.

Links to statistics related to health and related topics.

Information and data about healthcare and health policy.

The resource represents an extensive collection of NIMH's best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders

The purpose of the HIW is to provide a single, user-friendly, source for national, state, and community health indicators.

These profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports.

For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide comprehensive information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as individual hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

The MAP team have assembled a unique spatial database of linked information based on medical intelligence and satellite-derived climate data to constrain the limits of malaria transmission and the largest ever archive of community-based estimates of parasite prevalence.

The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display or download data.

The World Health Organization provides an interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States.

CDC and its partners work to identify and address the factors that lead to health disparities among racial, ethnic, geographic, socioeconomic, and other groups so that barriers to health equity can be removed. The first step in this process is to shine a bright light on the problems to be solved. Providing accurate, useful data on the causes of illness and death in the United States and across the world is a foundation of CDC's mission and work.

The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.

Tools for measuring health care quality, including the National Healthcare Disparities and Quality Reports, AHRQ Quality Indicators, and ambulatory clinical performance measures.

Statistics on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government

This site summarizes U.S. statistics about drug-related crimes, law enforcement, courts, and corrections from Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and non-BJS sources.

The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

The National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (NCVAS) supports planning, analysis, and decision-making activities through the collection, validation, analysis, and dissemination of key statistics on Veteran population and VA programs.

Information about the LGBT population from the Williams Institute, a national think tank focusing on sexual orientation, gender identity law and public policy.

All Census Bureau demographic surveys collect information about same sex couples.