Research Guides: PADM 6102: Quantitative Research for Public Administration: North Carolina Statistics

North Carolina Statistics

Population Profiles Estimates and Projections

NC Office of State Budget and Management: State Data Center
Compiles NC statistical data from a variety of state agencies.
North Carolina State Demographics:
Population estimates and projections for the state, counties and cities.
Log Into North Carolina (LINC):
atabase containing NC population and demographic data from the 1960s to present, from statewide, county and municipal level down to census tract. Click on the "start LINC now" button. Beside the entry (middle left) "Preformatted Report" click on "Get a county or state report." The default is "Multiple Topic Profile"; Choose North Carolina or a county, then click Go. Select multiple years (the most recent 5) to get coverage for all variables.

County Overview and General Information

Log Into North Carolina (LINC):
Database containing NC population and demographic data from the 1960s to present, from statewide, county and municipal level down to census tract. Click on the "start LINC now" button. Beside the entry (middle left) "Preformatted Report" click on "Get a county or state report." The default is "Multiple Topic Profile"; Choose North Carolina or a county, then click Go. Select multiple years (the most recent 5) to get coverage for all variables
County and City Data Book: 2007
"The County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas."
Eastern North Carolina Dataset Project:
Demographic and socio-economic data for each of the 41 counties that comprise eastern North Carolina.
North Carolina Vital Statistics
State and county level figures for births, deaths and other health related topics.
State & County Quick Facts
Easy to use site for retrieving basic demographic profiles based on Census 2000 data, the American Community Survey and other sources.

NC Labor Force, Employment and Earnings

Employment Security Commission of North Carolina: Labor Market Information
Workforce demographic data, including employment and wages, available by geographic area or by industry
North Carolina County Profiles:
Basic demographic and economic data, provided by the state Department of Commerce.
NC Department of Commerce: Economic Development Reports
Monthly economic summaries and other reports and publications.
NC Department of Commerce: Workforce Development Reports
Annual reports summarizing North Carolina's workforce development efforts as well as "State of the NC Workforce" reports projecting future economic developments. (Scroll to the bottom of the linked page)
NC Office of State Budget and Management: State Data Center
Compiles NC statistical data from a variety of state agencies
Log Into North Carolina (LINC):
Database containing NC population and demographic data from the 1960s to present, from statewide, county and municipal level down to census tract. Click on the "start LINC now" button. Beside the entry (middle left) "Preformatted Report" click on "Get a county or state report." The default is "Multiple Topic Profile"; Choose North Carolina or a county, then click Go. Select multiple years (the most recent 5) to get coverage for all variables.

Older Years:

Annual Summary of Employment and Wages of Workers Covered by Employment Security Law of North Carolina.
Raleigh, N.C. : Employment Security Commission of North Carolina, Bureau of Research and Statistics. Extensive coverage from 1967-1983 available in the reference area of the North Carolina Collection (JNCRE-- HD 5725 N8 A3).

Civilian Labor Force Estimates for North Carolina. Raleigh, N.C.: Labor Market Information Division, Employment Security Commission, 1960-1999. Available in the reference area of the North Carolina Collection (JNCRE-- HD 5725 N8 N64a; additional issues available in microform).

Employment and Wages in North Carolina. Raleigh, N.C.: Labor Market Information Division, Employment Security Commission of North Carolina. 1984-1999 available in the reference area of the North Carolina Collection (JNCRE-- HD 5725 N8 A3; additional issues available in microform).

PADM 6102: Quantitative Research for Public Administration

NC Health Statistics

NC County and Regional Health Statistics

Health Disparities Stats

North Carolina Statistics

Population Profiles Estimates and Projections

County Overview and General Information

NC Labor Force, Employment and Earnings