Research Guides: PADM 6102: Quantitative Research for Public Administration: General National/International Statistics

Qualitative Research and Public Administration

Social Explorer

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. Allows users to customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.

Library Databases with Articles that Contain Quantitative Research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An extensive archive of American and international scholarly journals and books in the humanities, sciences, philosophy, and social sciences.  Provides downloadable PDFs. Content spans 1800 – 2 years ago.
ProQuest Search This link opens in a new window
Contains blend of abstracts, indexing and full-text. Searches all available ProQuest databases. Multidisciplinary database that includes hundreds of thousands of sources in many different formats.

United States Statistics

U.S. Census Department
Excellent site to find information on city population, demographics, education, and much more.
American Fact Finder
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
US Census Economic Indicators
Economic indicators from the US Census
Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA's national economic program provides a quantitative view of US domestic production, consumption, and investment, of exports and imports, and of national and domestic income and saving.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
The BTS mission is to create, manage, and share transportation statistical knowledge with public and private transportation communities and the Nation.
Statistical Abstracts Series
The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Provides data series on population, work and welfare, economic production, and governance and international relations from 1790 to 2000. Joyner library also has this title in prin
USA Trade Online
A service of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Provides U.S. export statistics of commodities based on the Harmonized Schedule (HS).

International Statistics

United Nations Demographic Yearbook
Population and vital statistics for all nations.
World Bank
Economic and financial data for 185 member countries.
Eurostat
Economic and other data for EU countries.
UN Comtrade
Free access to all of the trade data available in the UN Comtrade database. The UN Comtrade database contains more than 3.1 billion trade records starting from 1962.
World Development Indicators
The Indicators are organized into 10 categories that include economic policy and debt, education, environment, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor and social protection, poverty, private sector and trade, and public sector.

PADM 6102: Quantitative Research for Public Administration

Mapping Tools

Survey Data

Qualitative Research and Public Administration

Social Explorer

Library Databases with Articles that Contain Quantitative Research

United States Statistics

International Statistics