It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides a digital archive for the scholarly output of the ECU community. Its mission is to capture, preserve and make available the intellectual output of East Carolina University’s faculty, staff, and students.
Dissertation Books on the ECU Joyner Library Catalog
Umberto Eco's wise and witty guide to researching and writing a thesis, published in English for the first time. By the time Umberto Eco published his best-selling novel The Name of the Rose, he was one of Italy's most celebrated intellectuals, a distinguished academic and the author of influential works on semiotics. Some years before that, in 1977, Eco published a little book for his students, How to Write a Thesis, in which he offered useful advice on all the steps involved in researching and writing a thesis--from choosing a topic to organizing a work schedule to writing the final draft. Now in its twenty-third edition in Italy and translated into seventeen languages, How to Write a Thesis has become a classic. Remarkably, this is its first, long overdue publication in English. Eco's approach is anything but dry and academic. He not only offers practical advice but also considers larger questions about the value of the thesis-writing exercise.
Thesis writers everywhere rely on the style rules and guidelines provided in this easy-to-use reference. Everything involved in writing long research papers is covered in detail - from taking library notes to correctly punctuating bibliography entries.
Dissertation Journal Articles on the ECU Joyner Library catalog
A collection of U.S. and international dissertations and theses. Provides full text for graduate works added since 1997, selected full text for works written prior to 1997. Contains a significant number of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Content spans 1743 – Present.