Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Searching for Primary Documents at ECU: Manuscripts & Rare Books

Manuscripts and Rare Books

Visit ECU's Manuscripts & Rare Books Department to find primary sources, maps, and more!

Features of Manuscripts

Welcome to the Manuscripts and Rare Books Collection!

  East Carolina Manuscript Collection

This collection includes many manuscripts (letters, diaries, financial records, organizational records, photographs, etc.) pertaining to North Carolina during its post-Civil War history.

Searching for Collections

Individual manuscript collections can be identified by searching the Special Collections Department’s Collection Guides feature: http://digital.lib.ecu.edu/special/ead/  Finding aids describe the collections and tell which boxes in a collection should be consulted for particular material mentioned in the description.

 

 

 

Searching by Subject

Use the Browse by Subject feature to identify collections that have been classified using Library of Congress Subject headings.

Subjects include but are not limited to:

  • African Americans
  • Public schools
  • Segregation
  • Women

Searching: Keyword

Use a keyword search to identify collections with additional or similar subject matter. Truncate words by using an asterisk (*). Search for specific phrases using quotation marks. In addition to subjects noted above, searches might include: