Special Collections: Searching for Primary Documents at ECU: University Archives

Includes student handbooks from 1926 through 1976. The first student handbook was created by the Young Women's Christian Association of East Carolina Teachers College and included information on the YWCA, the Student Self-Government Association, the Athletic Association, school hours and calendars, and social regulations. From 1927 through 1939 the handbook was published by the Student Self-Government Association.

The collection includes annual course catalogs, summer session catalogs, graduate school catalogs, and special topic bulletins. The annual catalogs were published from 1909 until the present. The graduate catalog was first published in 1941, but was not published regularly until 1968. That year the annual catalog became the undergraduate catalog. The summer session catalog was published separately from 1912 through 1986. In 1938 the catalogs became quarterly publications. The summer catalog was issue number 1 and the annual catalog was issue number 2. The remaining two issues were special topic publications. The special publications continued until 1953.

The Records of the East Carolina University Board of Trustees includes the official meeting minutes of the Board, committee minutes, audio recordings of board meetings, biennial reports for the Governor of North Carolina, and biographical information about Board of Trustee members. The records begin in 1907 when the East Carolina Teachers Training School was chartered and continue through the present.

Expressions magazine seeks to provide a forum for minority students of any classification to review societal themes which constitute the focus of each issue. Managed primarily by students, Expressions contains essays, poetry, and artwork intended to spark discussions between self-identified minorities and the mainstream student body.

Includes yearbooks from 1923 through 2009. Volumes were published from 1926 through 1952 as the Tecoan and from 1953 through 1976,1979 through 1990, and 2006 through 2008 as the Buccaneer. Volumes were not published in 1977, 1978, and from 1991 through 2005. The first volume was published as a substiute for the spring issue of the Teachers Training Quarterly.

Collection contains East Carolina Fact Books, which serve as a compilation of statistics, procedures, and organizational charts. Many issues also include information on spending, student demographics, and contact information for available student services.

Leo Jenkins served as the fifth President and first Chancellor of East Carolina University. A schoolteacher and Marine before becoming an administration under John Messick, he is credited with presiding over the most expansive period of growth for East Carolina. His tenure saw the addition of a medical school, acceptance into Division I athletics, and major increases in enrollment.
Collection contains personal effects of Leo Jenkins including awards, plaques, military honors, photographs, and political cartoons.