Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Educational Technology: Find Articles

Browsing through E-Journals—it can be done!

Many of the library's journals are now online only, meaning that if you want to simply browse the literature for trends as if you're flipping through a magazine, it can be difficult! It is not impossible, however, and there are many benefits to this kind of browsing.

The following instructions will lead you through the process of browsing a specific journal.

Step 1: Go to the E-Journal/E-Book Portal on the Joyner Library webpage or by clicking the button to the right on this page.


Next, follow these steps. Click on E-Journals only at the top of the screen, then select "Social Sciences" from the dropdown list.

Education will be in this list. You can choose Theory and Practice of Education. There are 851 journals listed here, which is quite a lot to look through. You may want to simply search by title at the top, if you know the name of the journal you wanted to browse.

Let's take a look at this method... Search by the title of the journal in Title begins with...

Either way that you choose to locate a journal you'd like to browse, you will be given the name of the journal, what year range Joyner Library has access to, and the linked name of the database where you can find the content, in this case, Education Research Complete.

Click on the database link to be taken to the following screen, where you can look at the different issues to the right, or "Search within this Publication."

Congratulations! You can read articles from the resulting list by clicking on the title.

Education Database Tutorial

Education Database Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search the Education Research Complete database.

Search for E-Journals @ ECU Libraries

Search for Periodical Titles

Delivery Options

Joyner Library provides numerous resources and services for our distance education students and faculty.  Students and faculty may search for books, journal articles, and other library materials through the library's online catalog, full-text databases, and additional electronic resources.  Distance Ed users living outside of Pitt County may receive materials from Joyner Library through the library's document delivery service.